December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Perception

by y2bd - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You only get one light.

A "game" of sorts made by y2bd.

It was made with the following:

* Lua
* Love2D 0.9.0
* Vim
* Photoshop
* Audacity
* sfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#86Mood3.58
#112Innovation3.60
#399Overall3.13
#408Graphics3.10
#482Humor2.27
#557Theme2.76
#591Fun2.73
#623Audio2.22

Comments

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:30am

Hmmm, I downloaded the source and it looks interesting, but I'm on a mac so I can't play : / is there any way to port this to mac? (Porting is allowed after the 48 hours, btw)

MrTedders says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:38am

Good game! A very thoughtful game. Great job!

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:53am

Really enjoying working my way through! Relaxing.

Hit this:

Error

main.lua:341: attempt to index a nil value


Traceback

main.lua:341: in function 'update'
[C]: in function 'xpcall'

Sad, but hope this may help someone else :-D

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:09am

I knew this would be my cup of tea the moment I saw your in-progress gifs. Did not disappoint, and I even found the easter egg!

y2bd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:19am

Thanks for the kind words everyone! This was an idea I had in my head for a while, and it was awesome that I got the chance to implement it into my first Ludum Dare!

@zconnelly13 Hey, I threw up what I believe to be an OSX executable (extract it out of the zip file first). I don't have a Mac so I can't test it, so please tell me if it doesn't work!

@thatwhichis Oh no! This didn't possibly happen during the "really fast" part, did it? It happens pretty inconsistently and I haven't been able to nail it down yet. Hopefully you were able to restart the game and make it through with no issues, but I'm sorry for the bug.

Cherno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:48am

Needed music! Would have been so much better!!! Anyway, loved the game. Great work! :)

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:49am

Hey, no worries! It was during the fast part or possibly immediately after; I believe I had just started to try and investigate when it occurred. I'm actually off to bed for the night but will try it again fresh tomorrow. I already think very highly of the game.

conormn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:17am

Really liked where this is going. FYI on a recent macbook air this started making the fan go into overdrive! Worth it tho!

jongtao says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:43am

It's a little slow, but it's a really cool idea. I got disoriented for a couple moments in it

Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:48am

Crazy. Kind of moody, but gets tedious after a while.
I like the style though. Movement should be faster.

I got to a part where a bunch of beams light up in sequence as you activate them, and then I guess it ended, but the message was partially covered by the shadows so I only saw "sometimes you need".

What do I need?!

I see you listed Photoshop, Audacity and sfxr, but I didn't see any graphics or hear any audio in the game, so I dunno if that's a bug or on purpose.

Anyway, probably the best disembodied flashlight simulator this LD!

y2bd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:23am

@Steve Thanks man for the notes! Ooph, the ending text being clipped is embarrassing, it should be fixed now.

I used Photoshop to actually design the "map" (check out the source to see what I mean) and there actually should be sounds, but they're pretty quiet.

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Tried it again today and made it to the end! Pretty sweet deal, homes. Thoughtful.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:42pm

The perceptual tricks this game plays are really enjoyable. Apparently endless hallways because there is no point of reference, the looping that requires keen attention to distances to actually know you're going anywhere, etc. A nice ambient background track would do this game well.

Roobean says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Wow. You need to play this game.
Makes you think about gaming like this in a completely different way.
If I feel lost, take your time. If you don't know where you are going, keep going.
This game needs to be made into a full version, green lit on steam with full resolution graphics support and would be nice to have small amount of shadow aspects too, only a small amount on the edges.
But without those additions this game is amazingly intriguing and makes your rethink your... Perception.
Great Job y2bd.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:13am

Technically, this seems pretty impressive; from a gameplay perspective, exploring things this way is fascinating, but I really didn't like how the camera only seemed to follow the player once they got two-thirds across the screen. This meant that almost all of the screen was dark at any one moment, even in the direction the player was looking.

Maybe if the camera instead moved in front of the player, so that the beam would illuminate more of the screen when appropriate, it would feel less limiting. Some audio might have helped a whole lot, too.

Otherwise, though, this was an interesting entry! Good job!

crockid5 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:40pm

Didn't have much fun, the gameplay felt annoying and sluggish and doesn't fit the theme >.>

multikorv says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Nice mood! Good implementation. Felt really solid, I like it!

LukuluK says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Really interesting game, and there is some means to link it with the theme. Perhaps you should add some features to get a better rythm in the end, and a sound ambiance could fit better too !

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 2:48am

I couldn't run this game on Windows 7 (32-bit). The executable won't run at all.

nyrrrr says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:44pm

I really like it. Awesome idea.
Maybe you should have added some sound for some extra tension. But good job! :)

jfroco says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:16am

It is a very interesting and claustrophobic mechanic. The lack of music affects the experiencie... minimalist art is always the best. Congrats.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]