December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Video Game

by SoundGuy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

One video game is a FMV "choose your own adventure" type game game made with Interlude in the last 4 hours of the competition.

It's a meta game about making a video game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
Humor4.36
#9Innovation4.14
#192Overall3.42
#312Mood3.04
#314Audio2.86
#380Theme3.11
#415Fun2.97
#575Graphics2.78

Comments

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Keybaord!Weird, I liked it.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Hahahaha you got me. Damn you.

Not gunna spoil it for others, but I got a great ending. Also a really cool idea for a game. Recommended!

SoundGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:25pm

@BraleyPollard you only get one. (Chance at making that joke)

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:45pm

This game should be Google #1 result while searching for "LOL" :D

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:14am

You got me, well done =)

vanaficionado says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:16am

Hahahaha, very funny. Great submission. You only get one.... Spoon? Plastic or metal!

errorage says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:16am

This entry has the best graphics, they are so lifelike!! :)

Seriously tho, great entry :)

whiteknife says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:33am

Funny stuff, great ending! Liked the video format.

Integershift says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:35am

That was hilarious!

triplefox says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:35am

5/5 audio

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:36am

The sound when clicking to choose an item is much louder than the narrative sound, so it hurted my ears.

abeing says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:37am

funny funny

nikev says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:38am

Funny.

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:40am

Great idea and funny too! Though it was slightly ruined by YouTube making me watch a 30 second advert beforehand :(

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:42am

A lighthearted game that was very enjoyable throughout (except for the surprise ending :D). Also, this is a cool format that I didn't know existed, I might have to experiment...

RhysD says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:52am

Good job! I've never really seen a game in this format before (choose your own video adventure...CYOVA??!) Was pretty funny :)

ryanmurakami says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:08am

Very funny.

eli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Wowwwwww this is the most SoundGuy game possible!!

Congratulations on bringing back FMV games. I'm very impressed that you made this in only a few hours.

5/5 finger pointing.

AaronGordon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:57pm

One of the best i've played! Love the idea, came out of nowhere, and the ending was great! Interesting games like this are what Ludum dare is all about!

erebusman says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:25am

Nicely done, this reminds me a lot of the old Phantasmagoria games by Sierra Online! It also was an ingenious way to get sound, animation and art in your game without having to produce a bunch of sprites or 3d models; I applaud your inventiveness!

sfdnetwork says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Very innovative, fun. It's connected to the theme. The graphics were superb. The audio quality was pretty good except for the hiss (use noise reduction next time). I gotta say it was really funny. The mood was...let's say engaging. Yep 5/5 Overall.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:05am

you sneaky son of a (bitch? or God?) ahaha cool submission ... innovation 5/5!

jsspiegel says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:31pm

So great and refreshing :) We need more innovative and humorous games like this

psc1997 says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 10:33am

Haha funny idea !
Next time use noise reduction (eg. in free Audacity) ;)

Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:07pm

I'm laughing so hard :) Way to go Oded!!! Lots and lots of stars for this one!

Novodantis says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Love it! And loving the cheeky little To Be or Not To Be reference in there, too.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]