December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mumps: Fear of Contagion

by psychonull - Jam Entry

This is the story of a guy surviving a mumps outbreak. He knows one get mumps once in a lifetime. He also knows he must be healthy so he can save the love of his life.

This is possibly based on true events: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mumps_outbreaks_in_the_2000s

Written in javascript using 2d canvas for the game render and some DOM for popups.
We are a team of two devs participating for the first time in the ludum dare jam. Too many ideas and wishes were left out of this game due to time restrictions. We couldn't polish the controls and collisions as we wanted, so definitively we are doing so for future versions of the game outside the jam (as well as balancing the difficulty).

Music credits for Abstraction https://soundcloud.com/abstraction/sets/ludum-dare-28 that made 8 free tracks in 48hs to help devs around the world.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#193Audio(Jam)3.10
#255Humor(Jam)2.39
#322Graphics(Jam)3.03
#342Mood(Jam)2.70
#430Innovation(Jam)2.37
#458Overall(Jam)2.57
#461Theme(Jam)2.17
#500Fun(Jam)2.03

Comments

burlapjack says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:24am

I like the mood. I got stuck on the third screen, though :/

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:13am

We have the same control! Thankyou for Web version!

GrinCreative says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:22am

Nicely done!
I just don't like too much the way used to move.

Lazdo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:24am

Really like the game, not being able to move, while already moving was a downside. Also really liked the art and idea.

grimgraybeard says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:52am

Nice one. Good Music. Good art. Very funny when you start to do pirouettes before moving. Makes it hard to pass narrow situations tho.

Masadow says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Did not really enjoyed the control. With some path finding, it could be better. You always get stuck against a corner or another guy. Also, he always turn round before really moving ahah.

Despite that, graphics and audio are really cool and the mood feel great too :)

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Nice mood and music, maybe you could have added some pathfinding and faster rotation before moving, but anyway, good game! :)

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:12pm

I dont can move. But i like music and graphics!

psychonull says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Thanks for the feedback! we are going to polish the controls for the player movement, the collissions and the levels difficulty for a post-jam version.

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:03pm

It got awkward controlling of the main character, but overall it feels like it would have a nice story.

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Nice style! A little weird moving, but nice work anyway! :)

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Moody and creepy, I loved how the story unravelled gradually and built the tension - just a shame about those controls because I got stuck at one point and couldn't work out how to proceed. Great effort!

larb says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:39pm

My only problem was with the way movement is done. Why the line? Why not just click somewhere, and the guy would go straight to it?

Besides that, I thought this was a pretty funny idea. Really fun game. Music is awesome too!

joekinley says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:31pm

The mood, the graphics and the audio were quite nice.
The controls were really really really annoying. It was ridiculously annoying to move that thing. You bumped onto nothing at all (hitboxes are probably too big, as they probably are as large as the graphics themselves) and stopped. It was totally frustrating to play this game.
Also the type of writing broke the immersion the game could have had from the graphics, audio and the overall setting alone.

Good job though.

anvoz says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Nice game. The movement was quite difficult. Good job anyway! I really love the idea and the story.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]