December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Only one bullet/rectangle thing.

by ob6160 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A simple game in which the aim is to hit the home block using your one bullet. Coded in pure javascript, no external libraries, used PAINT.net for graphics and sfxr for the nice little noises.

Eventually I only had time to make 10 levels but it's quite fun :D Also everything about the angles was made purposefully dodgy to make the entire game feel weird and unexpected.

I only had sunday to work on this ;/

1st ludum entry =]

Enjoy! >:)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#254Theme3.32
#596Fun2.72
#623Audio2.22
#663Humor1.88
#709Innovation2.57
#724Overall2.74
#785Mood2.32
#855Graphics2.16

Comments

Jakub Koziol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:15am

And you can even check how many bullets are there left. :D
With those angles some of those levels need quite a lot of thinking.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Cool idea, I find that where I aim is a little off from where I shoot though. I got to level three but it froze. I'd love to see more puzzles.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:26pm

targeting was a little weird. would have been nice to try the current level over again, instead of starting from the beginning. nice game. :-)

Jimanzium says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:26pm

The game idea was quite good. But, I noticed the 'ball' would shoot to above the cursor and having to start from the start again was annoying, considering the difficulty of the levels.

ZYXer says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Quite a nice puzzle game. I really like that the angles are counterintuitive. Is it intentional that the bullet flies to the left of your aim?

It would be nice if you didn't have to redo all the levels when you fail.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:44pm

In response to you all:
It was intentional that the bullet was offset; however I can provide a setting that will fix the angles :)

How about I make some sort of checkpoint system?

Thank you all for playing :D

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Aw just realised I can't change it :/ Damn

Flyinpig5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:51pm

It's nice, the ammo counter is my favourite bit :p Like you said, it could have done with being a little longer, but overall a nice little game c:

Elforama says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Challenging game. The first time I got to level 3 it wouldn't shoot for some reason.

Sylence says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Very addictive :)

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Thanks for your ratings. I'll fix the level 3 bug asap.

grifdail says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:49pm

The game is great ! The idea is awesome, sadly there is little detail which annoy me. For instance the boucing is weird. I know it was on purpose, but I think it not fine. Another one was the direction of the shoot.

baton4ik says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:36pm

The game is very nice! But it gets a bit frustrating since it's almost impossible to beat a level the first try because of weird ricochet angles and you have to start all over again every time you fail.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:48pm

That's entirely the point! :D Only one bullet ;) I've updated it so the levels are fixed :)

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:05pm

A little frustrating having to start from the beginning again whenever you lose, and I can't think how many times I "hit the hard rock", but this is a good concept that is right on theme.

multikorv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Nice! It's somewhat frustrating to have to start all over, but I guess that's part of the point maybe. Would be nice with some checkpoints.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:23pm

I will definitely make a (much improved) spin off of this game with all of your comments taken into account :D It'll be interesting porting to mobile platforms.

Yes I know that it is frustrating to be landed back at the start but there was no time for checkpoints :)

Zenkerdus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:29pm

At first didn't know about the dodgy angle thing, but i got used to it (made the game more interesting). Played it longer than planned!

WojWorks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:49pm

It's a fun game, but it can be annoying to start from the beginning.

CaptainNakou says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:44am

Why not. Too bad there is no "Continue" x).

xk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:05am

Nicely fitting theme, starting all over is hugely frustrating.
Hitboxes are somewhat weird and bullet flies out not exactly where i expect it(maybe its just me though). Good job anyway!

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Haha I was gonna go for this kinda game at first as well before I came up with my minigame idea. Really good stuff. Love the use of walls to ricochet bullets. I wish I wasn't so bad at it though. xD

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:23pm

The weird angles made for some serious thinking before taking a shot, the only problem I have is that the position of the mouse cursor and the direction of the shot are different.

Overall, I did keep going back and retrying levels because I got hooked on finishing the game. That is the sign of a good game :)

GagaPete says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:06pm

I like this game. Even runs fine on mobile (Chrome for Android) though I haven't checked sound yet. If I could only retry by tapping/clicking... :-)

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Really? :D I haven't even tested it on that yet! :) Thanks for the info :D

Zhrack says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Nice game! Could be better if aim was aligned with mouse! There is a little offset when you shoot. Nice idea!

psychonull says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:45pm

haha its nice, I got level 5 memorizing where I put the mouse cursor on each level :P

scoobyben says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Would be nice not to have to start from the very beginning every time you fail

Photon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Why do I have to start over from the beginning every time I miss? Also, why is the collision bounce weird on Level 1? I mean, OK, if you purposely are trying to frustrate us and make us brain-dead, good job. But in terms of being a fun... eh. Just doesn't do much for me.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Sorry to hear that. :/

joekinglake says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:27pm

The idea is really nice, the physics are sometimes a little unpredictable. I'm not keen on the idea of starting again, but i guess it ties to the theme nicely in that respect. Good job here.

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Punishing and annoying. But if you are not that kind of person then you would like it. I actually liked it :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:59pm

i like the idea.. bullet seemed a little off sometimes.. and going right back to the start is uber frustrating hehe.. good job tho :)

JaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:07pm

This would have been a lot more enjoyable if you didn't have to start over after every miss. It has potential though!

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:11pm

*kicks self* why didn't I add checkpoints -.-

Katamori says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Writing out ammo number doesn't make any sense since we only have one :D

Toureiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:04pm

I wish the loading was faster. it's pretty fast but because I was restarting so often it got frustrating. Other than that, cool mechanic that fit the theme well.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:29pm

@Katamori heh it's funny ;)

Killswitch says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:36am

It feels like I'm playing a bit of Worms Blast. ;)

WetDesertRock says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:46am

I found this game slightly frustrating to play. The fact that your progress wasn't saved was a major bummer for me, also with the weird and unexpected bullet patterns.

Managore says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:31am

I'm not sure why you would intentionally offset the bullet. Together with having to start from the beginning each time, it makes the game frustrating. Other than those two points, it was fun to figure out how to beat each level!

MrTedders says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:04am

Wish you didn't have to start from the beginning again every time you lost but fun concept.

phi6 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:29am

Pretty hard! But I found the angle slightly off!

Fenmar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Interesting game. I made a Let's Play video with your game: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hZqNLtdL2Fs (second part)

ob6160 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Wow :D I'm famous! :D

AmmoreChicks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:45pm

A simple but nice way to match the theme. Good game. I had some problem with angles too...

Pixelulsar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:16pm

I always like these bounce the bullet type games. My problem was that the aim seemed to be a little bit off.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Reminds me of when I play billiards :)

And yes, level design is hard. Considering the amount of time we have to play each compo game in order to judge as much as we can, it would have been nice if we didn't have to restart from level 0 after missing.

Good job coding this without external libraries. And I liked the use of sound.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:06am

Hm, this is difficult yet fun game, I love it!

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:29am

Adictive!

Enneract says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Nice little game. It was surprisingly addictive :)

Jeremias says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Targeting feels indeed a bit weird. Why do you let the player start from all over instead of let him retry the current level? I would fix that in a post-compo version! :D

rnlf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Not bad for only one day of actual work. It feels a bit strange with the aiming offset and funny bouncy angles though.

errorage says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Ugh, really wish I didn't have to replay every level whenever I failed...

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Yeah! The fourth ou fifth level is very difficult! I like this casual game :D

Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:10am

Nice idea ! I would like more puzzles ! Fun game !

indegame says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 8:50pm

I could get past Level 3. It is not possible to pass that level

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]