December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

ESCAPE FROM PRISON!

by Flux - Jam Entry

A PROCEDURALLY GENERATED PRISON ESCAPE GAME

By Flux and Twincannon
Punyhumangames.com

Javascript, PIXI.js, JQuery, Underscore.js, Pathfinding.js
From scratch entity component system.
Music by http://www.nosoapradio.us/
Typography from Google Web Fonts http://www.google.com/fonts/specimen/Trade+Winds

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#187Audio(Jam)3.13
#253Overall(Jam)3.12
#260Fun(Jam)2.88
#345Innovation(Jam)2.65
#346Theme(Jam)2.53
#415Graphics(Jam)2.65
#1379Coolness35%

Comments

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:24am

Well done escape game. Only annoying problem was when multiple items are stacked on each other it's hard getting the one you want. Also, is there any reason to have anything other than cigarettes? Good job and nice music!

Udell Games says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:27am

Really fun, barrels of gameplay. Reminds me of monaco. I'd like to see this extended with some more interaction, I think this could be a great game!

johnfn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:03am

Nice job with the procedural generation, I thought it worked very well. One thing I noticed is that guards could occasionally take you completely by surprise. Some sort of advance warning system could really ramp up the tension nicely.

Good work :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:05am

This is really fun. I think you should definitely keep working on it.

j_stirk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:22am

Really fun. Procedural generation was cleverly done, and it would be awesome to see it fleshed out to make a bit more of a challenge.

TheThirdOne says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:53am

Excellent entry. Very impressive for 48 hours

dekart says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Very well done game, I like the sound track and the overall sense of pressure. With fine art and a little more balanced speed it could become a great game to publish.

AaronGordon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Nice game! Impressive you've got procedural generated levels in there in 48 hours. A problem I had was that I never seemed to be able to get caught or use the items, so it was just a scout out the area mission for me! Different objectives would have been nice or even a random lock down where i have to run back to my cell without being spotted.

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:06pm

I was really excited to play this but sadly I just get a black screen with the words item in your pocket and go to mess hall :( Safari 6.1 on Mac

pkenney says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:11pm

I escaped, but was there a use for the items? I didn't use one because it makes the guards not like you.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]