December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Cell

by xaedes - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A sandbox physics game inspired by Osmos/Spore/CellCraft/Flow.

You will only get one (biological) cell. Further more it is completely disassembled. Gosh, who did that??

Only your very core is still intact and controllable. Move around and try to build your cell from the parts that are left.

Among them are useful things like chloroplasts, cell membrane parts and energy.

But be careful; moving consumes energy. If your internal energy is depleted you won't be able to move anymore. So you have to collect more energy.

Much fun!

Controls: WASD

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#264Innovation3.26
#335Graphics3.24
#676Theme2.56
#676Overall2.79
#700Audio1.90
#716Fun2.53
#736Humor1.67
#785Mood2.32

Comments

MatrixBai says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:32am

Nice graphic and physic effect.

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:40am

I got stuck on the edges and couldn't get out without refreshing the page :(

The visuals are really nice and simple, definitely a good piece of work!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:58am

Awesome physics :) very cool

dcolgan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:34am

This is a really cool start to a game. Keep going with it.

lightsoda says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:56am

I like the jiggly physics.

tchem says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:20pm

good graphics and idea.

vanaficionado says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:08pm

This game is pretty fun! Its really hard to build a cell. But Its really enjoyable!

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:53pm

I love your neat idea! It's difficult, but cool ;D

xaedes says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Hehe thank you.
Game is further developed here:
http://xaedes.de/dev/one-cell/
https://github.com/xaedes/one-cell

JALgames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Sorry if I'm the only one too stupid for this game but although the game looks pretty nice, I can't do anything.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:21am

Cool minimalistic looking game. Controls were a little problem for me. Overall good game.

dqmhose says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:08pm

It's fun! It looks cool and plays well. Good job!

DangerPenguin says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 3:31am

Challenging to get the hang of, but definitely fun and original. Could have used a slightly easier learning curve and some more sfx/music.

Diptoman says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 1:08pm

This was fun! The physics was pretty good, and the graphics looked cool. I'm still wondering if there was an win-game condition. Most of the time I was just trying to make as long a cell membrane as possible.

foumart says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Just contained everything in one cell x) This really need a win condition and a faster energy deplation - now i have to go collect energy only to reduce the lag that appears because of the many objects on screen.. Good luck on finishing this :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]