December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lazyman Makes a Sub Sandwich

by alexc - 48 Hour Compo Entry

LAZYMAN MAKES A SUB SANDWICH

Lazyman really wants to eat a sub sandwich, but he has only one ingredient! He needs to find more!

- A 5-minute point and click adventure with awesome retro graphics!
- An original soundtrack with one song!
- Seven areas and four characters!

All music, art, and code were created in the 48 hours using Renoise, Paint.net, and Vim. This game is written in Lua using the LOVE2D 0.9.0 framework.

FOR WINDOWS PLAYERS: First, extract the zip file (this is important!) Then, just open PLAY.bat.

FOR LINUX AND MAC PLAYERS: If you have LOVE2D 0.9.0 installed from love2d.org then you can play this game by opening the sub_sandwich.love file.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#13Humor4.05
#92Fun3.57
#140Mood3.41
#145Audio3.26
#289Overall3.27
#408Graphics3.10
#598Innovation2.76
#909Theme2.00
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

fysx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:21am

It admittedly does not have much content or depth, but overall I enjoyed it a lot! Thanks for the sub, was yummy!

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:59pm

when I try to open play.bat I get an error: windows can not find '.\love-0.9.0-win32\love.exe' Male sure you typed in the name correctly and try again.

-Hope that helps

alexc says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:02pm

TeddyNashor - you must extract the zip file to play. I'll edit the game description. Thanks for the tip.

Cbeed says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:10pm

More like an interactive movie but nevertheless it was nice to play/view.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:14pm

hahaha VERY NICE.. I like it. short and sweet. tasty!

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Where'd you get the bread!? :)

vrld says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:28am

Very nice McPixel vibe you got there :) Only negative point: The mono-/dialogue basically tells you what to do, but the riddles are easy enough to figure out yourself. So you basically missed a great opportunity for more jokes!

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:49am

Haha I haven't played a point-n-click game since Day of the Tentacle. Really enjoyable retro throw back.

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:19am

All my favorite ingredients! Shady cabinet lettuce, barrel tomato, hole-in-the-ground ham and topped with Wisconsin cheese. Retro-licious!

Berzee says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:19am

"...it's still just lettuce." XD

Cheery little game. Good to encounter a point-and-click adventure. Best secret passage. I did wish there were a couple of actual puzzles to feel smart about figuring out, but I had fun throughout so I'm not complaining. =)

cudabear says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:22am

Very fun little point-and-click adventure. It's very linear, but that's not necessarily a bad thing. Loved the visuals and the music fits the game nicely. The story even got a few chuckles out of me.

Toby Simone says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:23am

It was awesome! Very relaxing, I was expecting a sudden boss fight or something like that xD The audio is really loud 0.0

alexc says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Toby Simone - I boosted and limited the audio to 0dB when I was mastering, so it's a lot louder than the other game soundtracks which weren't mastered.

GreaseMonkey says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:25am

Not sure what to actually say about this game.

I've backported it to Love 0.8.0, but the port's a bit dodgy (your mouse doesn't properly match where you want to click), and I only did it out of necessity. However, if you really badly need it I can give you the diffs.

alexc says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 4:56pm

GreaseMonkey - Why would you ever backport it to 0.8.0? 0.9.0 is packaged with the game anyway.

Raphy says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Hahaha that really made me laugh ! Limited gameplay but very funny.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]