December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Get Up, Get out, Dont Die

by Riilu - Jam Entry

You Only get one checkpoint

I cant take it anymore, i am done!

Instrucitons for play

A and D, move character
Space, Jump

S and W, move camera up and down

C, place checkpoint (only one per run)

Escape, return to main menu

E, Restart

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#167Humor(Jam)2.80
#383Theme(Jam)2.41
#384Graphics(Jam)2.77
#430Overall(Jam)2.68
#446Fun(Jam)2.36
#486Mood(Jam)2.05
#517Innovation(Jam)2.00
#1231Coolness42%

Comments

strong99 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:33am

I love how your head can save you so many times ;) See my screencap: https://twitter.com/strong99/status/412891060956700673
Fun game! But I didn't get very far though.

Joror says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:57pm

I'm not very good at this type of game (too easily frustrated), but nice execution!

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Pretty cool ! Well done :)

pighead10 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:08pm

How difficult can you make a platformer?!

torcado194 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:11pm

very very difficult. though i like these games, it just got annoying. good job though! also that isnt your head catching you, theres a tile below your feet

Patacorow says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:11pm

I love the graphics but the game is simply too hard and frustrating. I also can't see how it's related to theme.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Crumbs, intensely hard game! Reminds me a bit of Flail.

rubna says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Pretty cool game! Except WAY too hard. Like, I couldn't get past the toaster.

StMatn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Really challenging :)
Controlls are really responsive, which makes it very controllable. A variable jumpheight may have been usefull.
Reminds me somehow a little bit of super meat boy.
Thumbs up for the toaster :D

Riilu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:12pm

@StMatn the jump height is variable, although it's a bit too sensetive sadly, you have to hit the spacebar really quickly to jump shorter (would recommend using your right hand for it as opposed to using your thumb)

Jan says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:30am

Very hard game. Couldn't get past first screen. Would be nice if it startet easier so you could see more of the game.

Glboom says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:15am

I beat the game!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7WnN0d2Zryw&feature=youtu.be

TeamKl0n says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:06pm

The idea of setting a checkpoint is interesting. It has an interesting "push your luck" aspect.
It's kinda bad that you need to restart the game to set the checkpoint in another place.
Maybe we could pick it up, and dropped it in another place. If you die with the checkpoint, you go back to the beginning.

Kareemroks101 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Really challenging, this game needs a rage quit video ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]