December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Don One goes to space.

by alvarop - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My second game ever. My first ludum dare. You only get one ability : jump. Press any key to do so.

I know jumping is buggy on some parts but I couldn't fix it. This is the best I could do. Enjoy?

**There's two endings**

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#26Humor3.91
#158Fun3.43
#241Audio3.02
#399Overall3.13
#453Mood2.83
#494Theme2.87
#649Graphics2.64
#847Innovation2.29

Comments

Sheep says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:30pm

That was weird. The ending broke my heart.

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Veeeery weird but cool. Love the humor. A bit too fast, maybe? CALIENTE! ;D

Raphy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Hahaha the lines are hilarious !! The ambience is twisted !
I think the camera is too much "zoomed" to the player, making it hard to see things coming. But still I had fun with this !

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Made it to the double red launch ramps, but no further. I loved the big floating text boxes - really drove the humor of the game. It was also great that Don One hoists himself up when he runs into the side of a platform.

It would have been nice to be able to see a little bit further, and I had trouble seeing the black platforms.

gusanolocovg says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:23pm

could never beat it. If your only one item is the jump it really should work consistently. Could have been a pretty fun game if the jumping worked better.

sensenmann666 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:24pm

hilarious and very energetic - love it!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:24pm

As an concept, I thought the perpetual-runner-jumper game had been exhausted. But all it took was Don One and is his beautiful spikey body to make it fun again.

Cell says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Super good, one of my highest rated in terms of fun and humor!

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Collision is slightly off sometimes, but regardless a really fun game - love the music, love the text, love the humor. Well done :)

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Very cool, I love the humor, I had really fun playing this game. I'd play it again!

Edd Morgan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Playing Don One is an experience everyone should have before they die.

dznemotion says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Hahaha, very funny! The Don One is a real Hero, good game!

LevelUpJordan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:18pm

I like this, pretty funny! Gameplay is a bit standard though

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Fast and furious.

dqmhose says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Wow, so fast, but really fun! Love the music.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:13pm

cactos zombie was very funny :D

Nik Sudan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:14pm

How peculiar

MrTedders says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Very hard game. It was a toughie. Hesitated on those faith jumps and died many a times

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Haha!! This game is pure awesome!
Walking right by in the ending is just priceless!

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:17pm

So why do you instantly kill her by jumping in to her?

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:21pm

@xgeovanni Because you're a cactus.

Kemoiz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Hard as hell, but addictive. Don one, gran juego!

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:59pm

No one can argue, it matches the theme. I would like to see power-ups of some form added. :)

Valerien says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:25am

The game seems pretty funny to me. The scrolling is probably too fast or the camera too close to the character : it's hard to anticipate what's up ahead.
Otherwise I like the "frio" and "caliente" thing.

Cheers,
Nathan

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Awesome music! I'm sorry, space senorita, but I must go on without you ='( Great work!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Crazy game! Nice!

IHateATMFees says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:32am

"this ain't no joke"...ho lee crap that speed! very challenging!

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:25pm

"Better than happy wheels" - atomic vikings.
You can add that to your list :D

kalth.streil says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Took like 7 chances, but I beat it :D

Very well done for a first LD. The game is so funny, with all the phrases here and there. The initial image from gamejolt is too cool ( http://i.gjcdn.net/imgserver/game-header/950/20108_1.jpg ). Nicely done, sir :D

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 1:53am

Nice animations, loved the hat physics. Maybe a forward aiming scroll would allow to see ahead a little, after the spicy chilli flavour platforms, it's hard to time the next jump as you're going so fast.

anvoz says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Fast and fun game. The ending made me laugh.

xgeovanni says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Why is this so slow now? It was much better fast, now it's boring. (If you didn't actually slow it on purpose it's probably just my machine).

alvarop says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 8:08am

@xgeovanni It's your machine. I didn't change the game.

Sean Noonan says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Not too bad, the theme is amusing. The fixed jump height stopped me playing for any extended period though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]