December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Scrap Wheel Robot

by ainokaisa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your former host have thrown you to landfill as rubbish.
Of course you don't agree with him and decide to leave that place.

For best result use Chrome!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#294Innovation3.22
#395Humor2.48
#399Overall3.13
#400Audio2.71
#483Graphics2.96
#489Mood2.77
#521Theme2.82
#674Fun2.61
#998Coolness48%

Comments

Ako says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:04am

I sucked at this, but I like the concept. Especially liked the robots head falling off when it hit too hard. If I'm going to fail a lot I like humor. I have been playing with C2 also, although I am a total newbie. ;) Congrats! I'll see you on the Scirra forums!

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:59am

I managed to get to level 3, but couldn't beat it. I don't have the time or patience to get through all 5 levels (glanced through the source to see how close I was to the end). I think the game might be a tad too difficult, but it seems made well. I don't see how it relates to the theme though.

Tao says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:13am

Game starts up with instructions but the controls are entirely unresponsive. Interesting premise though =\

ainokaisa says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:24pm

@SnoringFrog You Only Get One Wheel. I was thinking something like Trials but only one wheel. Also I was planning to make more easy levels, but I did't have full 2 days so I put just the hard ones in I guess :I

acp_ld says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:09pm

the game ran but I was unable to start playing, do you have to press or click anything to start the game?

nerial says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Good atmosphere and concept. Hard to master maybe.

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:15pm

That light in the beginning of level 2, dang!
I thought this would be a athmospheric game due to the background, but it's more a gameplay game, with good gameplay. A hard game, but very addictive! One of my favourites gameplay wise!

CryoGenesis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Reminds me of QWOP

Great game, good sounds, innovative.

Good job!

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:16pm

That light in the beginning of level 2, dang!
I thought this would be a athmospheric game due to the background, but it's more a gameplay game, with good gameplay. A hard game, but very addictive! One of my favourites gameplay wise! Loved that engine sound as well, prrttputputput :P

kratorspore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Nice concept and control system! Very very hard. Too hard for me, I couldn't get passed the tutorial. Love it how the robot falls apart when you crash.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Overall a solid game. It's a bit too hard (couldn't get past level 2), but I really like its mechanics. If it was a bit harder to die it would have been really great.

occash says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Maybe I'm stupid, but I don't understand what should i do)

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:31pm

And they say games are too easy these days! I like this game, though the best way to play it would be with your friends laughing at you over your shoulder. It's got the same fun as QWOP, but actually feels controllable, if barely so. I made it to the second set of Washers in Level 2 before giving up.

It did take me 7 or 8 lives at the beginning to understand how the controls worked. The problem is that if you just start with Z and X, they don't do anything until you start falling over. Having those work immediately - even if it kills the player - would make it easier to learn. The sketch of the controls is tricky too - I actually thought it was a joystick.

Nice work!

ainokaisa says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Wow thanks everybody! :( )

@acp_ld, No you should be able to just start moving. Found this on Construct 2 forum though

"Most of keyboards have troubles with detecting arrow-keys and numpad keys, pressed at the same time.
(try to press up-arrow +left or rigt arrow+ num0, no effect)."

not sure if that is still an issue.

@JoeProgram, Totally forgot to fix that tilt system. Force is determined from the angle and when it starts it is 0. Also Z and X weren't maybe the best choice for everybody.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Really interesting idea, the physics behind this are cool but very difficult. A few times I got it right and my guy went launching into the air - a few moments of euphoria before the inevitable crash landing

Keith Evans says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Wow, I suck at this. :) That was really fun. I replied the tutorial so many times before I got the hang of it. Good job.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Cool game, made me laugh a lot, it's so hard to keep the balance, the little sound are funny. Great work !

Kyatric says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:52pm

I did not make it past the tutorial ^^

The idea is good, but the controls are...
I don't know, I like physics game in general, but this one is pretty hard. It is strange how the balance works.

There is a nice mood, graphics look nice, I guess the difficulty is not well balanced.
Or maybe, instead of a one shot death, have an health bar, or something to allow the player to "fail" without getting frustrated too quick.

Congratulations on releasing a game nevertheless, I wish I could have gone further into it.

zatyka says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:34am

Very QWOP-ish. I wanted to be able to play this more because I typically really like vehicle physics-type games, but the controls were just too tricky and sensitive to get the hang of. I loved the graphics, and it had a nice dark mood to it. I really wanted to see more, but the learning curve was just too high for me. When you make the game, you tend to not realize how difficult it can be for a new player. That's a trap that I certainly fell into my first Ludum Dare.

Congratulations on participating. I hope to see you in LD 29.

ainokaisa says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:42pm

@zatyka Actually I didn't know about QWOP, but I have made similar experiments in the past :)

Hurry and no tester can be a problem. But maybe I make a proper game out of it at some point.

Shigor says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:29pm

no matter what I did I wasn't able to get past the tutorial - it didn't seem that Z and X key did anything.

GreaseMonkey says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:39am

Yecch, this crashes my browser D: - Mozilla/5.0 (X11; FreeBSD amd64; rv:26.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/26.0

ainokaisa says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:57am

Forgot to mention it works best on Chrome.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]