December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Chest is the key

by bessdlan - Jam Entry

A little game where you have to choose one chest to open the exit door of each levels. Beware of trapped chests!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#89Theme(Jam)3.39
#170Graphics(Jam)3.61
#181Innovation(Jam)3.11
#200Audio(Jam)3.09
#223Overall(Jam)3.17
#268Fun(Jam)2.83
#270Humor(Jam)2.33
#272Mood(Jam)2.87

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:41am

Good concept! It remember me Zelda, good job!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:07pm

The concept was cool, but the lack of additional levels and a clear goal caused the game to get quite repetitive.

rvaquero82 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Interesting concept.

Mekuri says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:39pm

The idea with the chests was great! The game got slightly repetitive rather fast though. The graphics were nice as well.

mamoniem says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:41am

nice game. The project is completely complete !
love the art,music and almost the gameplay.
Good Luck !

nSun says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:34am

Beautiful graphics, cared for and highly detailed.
This is probably due to my screen resolution because the character seems very small. Maybe I would have preferred rendering zoomed (x2 pixel), to better appreciate the pixel-art, and also for a more immersive feel. Although my suggestion could hinder the understanding of the dispersion chests ...

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:40am

I like the simple yet addicting mechanic,
I could easily see how this could be expanded!
The last riddle... I found that it's a little too famous..
But this is a great game!

wbwelcomeback says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:05am

Pretty good game. I enjoyed playing this.

tobbez says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:55am

Nice graphic, the chestshuffling could have been removed and randomized. The chests didn't provide much benefit as the game was now. Nice riddle in the end.

ALobker says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Chests dispersed rather quickly, so opening one was kind of random for me. Fun game, though.

DST says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Good concept and well done! Good amount of content too!

Clayblob says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 3:56pm

The last puzzle was too easy... Otherwise good.

GarethIW says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 4:44pm

I liked it, perhaps showing us what's in each chest for 1/2 a second/a second longer so we have a slightly better chance of knowing what we're going for would be nice. Since if you're low on health and you get a monster chest it's effectively a game over. Fortunately the penalty for a game over isn't too strict.

Jan 3, 2014 @ 5:31pm

good job man.. had to shrink my browser zoom tho ;p

mmickyman says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Not bad, but hard.

Xanjos says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Really liked your take on the theme (being only able to open one chest). Would have loved to have some enemies to fight against (instead of the one that spawns when you pick the sword chest) though.

Raphy says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Hard game ! Is this just based on luck ? I really like the retro atmosphere though and the polish, good work !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]