December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Jack of all trades

by OddOneOut - 48 Hour Compo Entry

What would it be like if you only had one skill point to assign in an RPG?

Controls: Move with WASD, arrows or HJKL. You can also use space to jump.
Esc to pause / restart (may be necessary if you fail a puzzle)

The game didn't turn out anywhere like I thought it would since I had to cut a lot of content to meet the deadline.

Made with melon.js, Tiled and BFXR.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#209Innovation3.38
#261Overall3.30
#339Fun3.10
#386Humor2.50
#398Mood2.91
#400Theme3.08
#408Graphics3.10
#591Audio2.32

Comments

funktor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:38am

Seemed pretty simple, got to the first spikes. Not sure how it connects to the theme?

DrooobE says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:43am

I think it was pretty cool. The one point RPG made me laugh a bit. It's pretty short but good job :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:48am

So glad I played this! Top marks for innovation here!

Too bad I couldn't see the ending. There is a bug with the wizard entering the first sparkly ground. The game freezes as soon as the wizard disappears and I have to refresh.
I'm using Firefox browser.
I'll check back again if you've fixed it!

Sink says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:50am

Awesome gameplay mechanic! I really like the different classes, their looks, and how you can mix them up later in the game.

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:13am

I stucked at the "3 rock" part. My only option is to restart the game. Overall I like it. Solid puzzle platformer!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:01am

The RPG feel was so cool in this game, Not sure if fps was an issue but if the game wasn't infocus things seems smoother but if I was playing it was really fast and seemed hard to do anything.

Tanner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Nice graphics.

kcpunk666 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:30pm

good job!

Keith Evans says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Really liked this. I would love to be able to spec my character on the fly to reassign my one skill point and change the ability. Think you could make some really cool puzzles this way. Wasn't able to beat the strength character, thought I hit a dead end but wasn't sure. Good job!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:38pm

I love the rock phasing ability, really pleasing to use.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Very cool concept, love the graphics and the gameplay

pjchardt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Very interesting. Love the premise of the game and the extension of the game after various endings are achieved. Got a bit frustrated with getting stuck when trying to stack rocks though. Would be nice if there was a restart from checkpoint system for these puzzle sections. Nice work!

J says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:26pm

I had the wizard bug mentioned by theholychicken too (also on Firefox).

Mekuri says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Awesome game! I loved just about everything about it. The skill point idea was amazing, and I loved how the appearance of the character changed based on the skill point(s) you allocated! Too bad the cut features didn't make it, but I loved that you threw 'em in as an added bonus at the end! The graphics was great as well. Best game I've played so far! Very good job!

Spelchan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Fun platform/puzzle game. Not entirely within the theme as you need to get past the only one part of the game to win. Perhaps a more-in-theme approach would have been to let players switch between the three classes but you only get one class at a time? Still, great game.

OddOneOut says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Thanks for all the feedback! I fixed firefox teleporting bug. There are some visual artifacts still in firefox, but now the game should at least be playable. For the best experience I suggest chrome.

OddOneOut says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Thanks for all the feedback! I fixed the firefox teleporting bug. There are some visual artifacts still in firefox, but now the game should at least be playable. For the best experience I suggest chrome.

Pyrofoux says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:35pm

My comment was going to be a tinier version of all precedents comments ! ;)

Diptoman says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Wow, awesome use of the theme! Solved all puzzles and got the 2 new skills, but didn't play after that. Do they do anything? ._.

Anoarith says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Really nice game ! We've both kinda got the same approach of the theme ;)

local minimum says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:57pm

I unlocked one ending, got stuck on the others. I think you have a simple mechanic here that you could continue on. I would have been really great though if the block movements and other changes stayed between resets.

saulopz says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 5:01pm

simple, but it is cool. Just one power to play makes you use different strategies to play.

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Unlocked all ending, this is really impressive game :)
I'll recommend it to my friends.

Xaychru04 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 5:53pm

The concept is really clever, checkpoints would have been nice too, restarting the whole game is frustrating when you're stuck on a puzzle... Anyway, I enjoyed this puzzle game! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]