December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeon Run

by gusanolocovg - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Woohoo, First Ludum Dare. This was fun. Not knowing what to expect I went pretty simple, an ASCII roguelike using no external libraries. I left good programming at the door and somehow the chaos produced something playable. A lot of windows console wrestling went into this submission if I was to do it over I would probably just use a 2D library like SFML. I hope everyone likes it. I found it pretty entertaining. The source download also contains the executable.

EDIT: Recompiled with static Libraries instead of DLL. Should do away with any missing DLL errors for some.

Also reduced difficulty a bit in the exe download. source package still contains the hard version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#222Overall3.37
#238Mood3.18
#283Fun3.20
#451Graphics3.00
#538Innovation2.85
#557Theme2.76
#597Humor2.00
#759Audio1.44

Comments

mrjordan says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 5:39am

Old-school, I love it!

bigdad1630 says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Looks good!!

Dec 15, 2013 @ 5:05pm

It would of been nice if you'd included the MSVCP120.dll, it could just be my computer messing up though.

It looks good from the screenshots anyway, I'm liking your graphics, reminds me of the ZxSpectrum color palette.

gusanolocovg says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 5:41pm

dll errors should be gone now.

607 says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 7:21pm

It looks great, the start screen is well designed and the instructions, apart from one typo, are also good. I had problems though with the enemies swarming around me in a way I couldn't possibly get out without dying. Also the looking around was pretty difficult, so I wasn't capable of finding a key. But still, it has a great feeling to it and looks very nice.

spike_xp says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Oh my... Difficultly cool!

Classic graphic, classic difficulty, and classic gameplay. Well, mostly the difficult part. It's damn hard, but it's pretty cool all over.

gusanolocovg says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Hmm wasn't sure about the difficulty I was able to complete it most of the time but I did get a lot of practice when creating it. It is possible to tweak the difficulty in the code by reducing the number of monsters a bit.

ajfischer says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:29am

Love this kinda game! This was the first type of game I coded years ago with this exact same ascii set, so it brings back memories. It was really hard though! Couldn't find any potions or the key. I enjoyed getting surrounded by several yellow and red monsters.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:33am

I'm a huge sucker for ascii games, and this one is no exception. Thoroughly enjoyed it!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:36am

I thought this game would be too easy when i saw i could outrun pretty much anything. I was proven wrong pretty quickly. Still, I had a lot of fun exploring the dungeon except I felt like it dragged on for a bit too long. Finding the door first is a PAIN.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:28am

As a huge fan of the original Rogue and Nethack, this game definitely had the nostalgia factor going on. A solid roguelike and an enjoyable old-school experience!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:41am

Very old-school! Niiice!

I love a good ASCII roguelike :D

madjackmcmad says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:52am

Solid work!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Amazing! Managed to somehow get the key on my first run before getting mobbed by enemies and then from then on could never get further than the first few rooms. Plays really well, interface and controls are simple and easy to use. Graphics suit the game well (I'm a big fan of dwarf fortress xD). Some smaller details would have been nice to change it up a bit such as weapons or upgrades. But overall a really good game.

X-0r says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:02pm

An ASCII-roguelike in the good old console? Just... wow. Congrats on your submission =)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Really cool game! Good job! :D

ponk says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Dynamic shadow with ASCII on a windows console...
AaaAAWWwwWWwEeEEsSSOoOOoommmmMMmEEE !!!

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Now, this is my kind of game!

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Great game, surprisingly accessible for a ASCII roguelike thing. Interface was clean and simple, controls were easy to understand. Very impressed with your line of sight implementation. This has potential to be a great roguelike.

mruno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:39pm

I was surprised by this! Amazing idea! It was difficult to get around the cave, but a very cool idea

disdanes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:44pm

This is incredible! Great job on the game! Loved the old-school vibe and the exploration. I would start the player out on a slightly smaller level just to get them used to the game, and then let them loose into a labyrinth.

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:31pm

It starts slow, but it gets intense mid-game when you're trying to outmaneuver ten enemies at once :)

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Nice game. The cave could have a better generator, but overall great game.

ChaseC says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Very impressive for using no external libraries. Great job!

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Love that old-school thing. Nice work !

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:15am

Nice little rogue-like, but the combat seemed very slow rather than treacherous

Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:27am

I enjoyed this WAY more than I thought I would. Love it, excellent work. :)

GreaseMonkey says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:35am

Note for Wine users: Run like so:
wineconsole LD28-48hr-DungeonRun.exe

Remind me to come back to this.

Skoggy says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Very cool! Very hard to play!

Dec 30, 2013 @ 2:10am

Wow, amazing work ! Really great job, totally feel like old school dungeon crawler !

shard123 says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:43am

Love the old school style and it was fun to play!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]