December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Earth

by seantheartist - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Earth is on the verge of boiling over. Too much pollution, not enough preparation for the Global Warming Apocalypse. You captain a ship with a crew and a single cannon. You are the last hope to save humanity! Destroy all the Power Rigs and save our One Earth from destruction!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#67Graphics4.00
#271Audio2.95
#368Mood2.94
#524Fun2.83
#676Overall2.79
#695Theme2.52
#873Innovation2.22
#1041Coolness47%

Comments

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Great animations--especially the explosions. Can't really tell when I'm being shot at so I just circle the target until it explodes, and then move on to the next one.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:23pm

great first game! your graphical design and attention to detail is amazing, the game looks beautiful. gameplay-wise it's fun, but as i can't tell when i'm being shot at (i guess?) it's kind of frustrating when i die.

supremefist says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:19pm

We had the exact same idea, but our concepts grew in totally different directions :) Great graphics, but you need to put projectiles in so people can try to avoid them!

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Great graphic :D it reminds me of the old snes games :D

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Cool game. Once you've learnt how it works though, it becomes easy.

X-0r says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Hm. I seem to explode randomly. Apart from that, I loved destroying these oil platforms. Who needs oil anyway, when you got a couple of rudders attached to your ship :P

Gravedrinker says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Nice idea and sprites.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Extremely well drawn and animated, simply a joy to look at! Wish I could see when/where the rigs were firing back

TBSHRichard says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Overall, the game wasn't the most interesting to play. I just spent my time circling around the oil rigs while firing at them. There wasn't much variety.

The graphics, however, were definitely the strong point of the game. They were beautifully made, very nicely done. The cannons on the oil rigs were a bit small though, I didn't know I would be fired at until I died!

The gameplay is the most important part of any game, at least it should be. Focus on the gameplay in the future; it doesn't have to be creative or never done before, just an idea that is fun to play. Keep practicing, have fun making games, and good luck in the future!

JALgames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Good game! I really like the animations. Only problem was that my mousepad disables when pressing any key. But still, I like dwarf fortress' slogan "loosing is fun!"

dqmhose says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:19pm

I liked it, good job! Although it's a little difficult (maybe I just suck at it)

rico.albe says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Really pretty pictures, but without a well defined response from enemies it's not so much fun. An after compo could be really cool.

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Gorgeous pixel art and animations.

Jedi says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Haha, it's like greenpeace with vikings! Take THAT oilrigs! (Oh crap, will that leak oil into the ocean?)

This game is fun but too simplistic, as has been said. The graphics are gorgeous!

Restarting to the first level: Has never been a good idea (though I've been guilty of this too).

Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Awesome graphics! nice animation i cant see the enemy bullets ): but its ok, great work! loving the game here :D also the movement is addictive so the gameplay is adictive :D xD

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]