December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Singular

by nerial - Jam Entry

IMPORTANT : even if web version is fine, it's really a game that's meant to be played on an android tablet or phone (didn't try on a phone but tablet are ok and tested).

- - - - - - - - -

So here is my jam entry. It's called Singular. It's a 19 levels long game about the dangers of being lonely to face certain events. If to finish the first levels you only need to destruct things, it gets more elaborate when you have to cooperate. It's short, you should complete it in 10 to 15 minutes.

It also features a grumpy green dot, red invaders and blue viruses.

I wrote some code on friday, because saturday was not available. So technically it's a jam entry !

= = = = = = =

If you liked the game please RT or follow me on Twitter : @nerial
Still need to decide what to do with this, so advice appreciated !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#20Innovation(Jam)3.84
#41Overall(Jam)3.81
#52Fun(Jam)3.63
#168Theme(Jam)3.12
#272Mood(Jam)2.87
#280Humor(Jam)2.31
#303Graphics(Jam)3.09
#457Audio(Jam)1.67

Comments

wiz3kid says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:34am

It's perfect, just needs a couple more levels to finish the storyline. ;)

nerial says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:31am

Well, actually it has a final talk that make sense, yet for some reasons it disappeared. Fixed ! thank you !

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:24pm

I like the art! Simple and clean! :D You could have worked another day on it, though! :D

nerial says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Certainly, but I wanted to stick to the 48 hours thing (even if, as I started a bit earlier, it's in the jam section).

VideahGams says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Says it needs a data folder.

PapaGrimbles says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Fun stuff. I like how quickly the shapes multiply when you've made a terrible mistake.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:27pm

I like it but it's storyline could've done with more work. The visuals are pretty also :)

Gazpachogames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:29pm

I really like the mechanic and the style. More levels will be awesome =)

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Interesting story and the mechanics are interesting, if rather trial-and-error.

nerial says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:34pm

I removed the Windows version, as it doesn't seem to work. Added Android though.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Art style is pretty cool (could have used a bit more polish on some parts though, like the walls). But this is also a pretty impressive amount of work/features. So good job!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Nice job, cool mecanics

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Awesome progression of fun and difficulty. Very solid and feels very close to a properly completed game.

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Great idea and clean visuals. I wasn't sure why the enemies would sometimes multiply though.

nerial says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:13am

Ha, that's the reds ability : when a red touches another red, it is divided in two distinct parts. If you're not careful, they breed really quickly...

nerial says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:14am

All right, I finally added a windows and mac version. Should work this time, even if I didn't tested the windows one. Please tell me if it doesn't work.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:02am

Interesting puzzle game you got here. Those multiplying reds slowed down my computer to a crawl sometimes :P fun game tho. Challenging.

nerial says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:14am

hehe :-) that's part of the game too.

NeiloGD says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:03am

Nice! Simple to pick up, very self explanatory.

strong99 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:07am

Neat!

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Great puzzle mechanic. I really hope you expand on it. :) Gets difficult really fast but I still had fun popping them balls. :) The narrative is a really nice addition. Solid job!

JaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Nice original puzzle game, reminds me of pool. In reverse.

Colorvade says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:02am

Cool concept, love seeing the orbs explosively grow.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Unique puzzle game, started to get tricky toward the end with the green/red swapping. Liked the story too!

Jeremias says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Funny ending :D I like the concept. Sometimes, I clicked through the text on the bottom without knowing it, so you should move the text to the screen's center or make the screen darker. Anyway, the visuals fit well for such an abstract game. If you make a post-compo version, you should add sounds - they would improve the overall feeling a lot!

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Nice puzzle game. I like the simplicity of it and the difficulty. I was stuck for quite some time in the one in which you have the use the big red. It's wonderful!

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Good work!
Very interesting puzzle, thanks!

OneDee says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Brilliant idea! So simple but can quickly become very complex, well done!

vikingpotato says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:40pm

One of the few different titles around this Jam! the gameplay could still use some refining, but i liked the game

sfdnetwork says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Very innovative, I like the concept.

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Interesting and fully realized puzzle game. 5/5 for fun.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:29pm

A cracking little puzzler. Rather good.

nerial says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:03am

Thanks everyone ! Your comments are very appreciated and I think I will push the concept a bit further and release something soon.

xrm0 says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Lots of fun. When the second green ball appears it lags a lot.

stvr says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 3:33am

Clever mechanic, reminds me a bit of Hundreds. The cascading red failure is pretty neat! I also like some of the hints in the beginning regarding the storyline. Some audio would make it more "juicy" though, and some of the writing was not great.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]