December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Captain's Duty

by VanhaVihtahousu - Jam Entry

Captain, your ship has been shipwrecked.
Since the ship was thought unsinkable,
you only get one lifeboat.

Be a hero or just enjoy fishing sharks in a Caribbean setting while crusing over shipwreck victims.

Arrows up and down change gears. Left and right steers and space will unleash a turbo booster which can be used to kill sharks.

Shipwreck victims can be saved by stopping next them and hauling them back to islands one by one.

Made with Unity, Gimp and Pro Tools and featuring real dynamic Ukulele music.

FurHatFishBros@gmail.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#99Audio(Jam)3.45
#146Humor(Jam)2.90
#199Theme(Jam)3.00
#277Innovation(Jam)2.81
#277Graphics(Jam)3.18
#295Overall(Jam)3.05
#318Mood(Jam)2.76
#340Fun(Jam)2.67
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

Azzar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:01pm

A nice game.
The controls feel strange at first, but once you get used, it gets fun. The music is great and the graphics is simple but bright and pleasing. I enjoyed this one

lasagnegames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:25pm

I guess the difficult in handling the controls was intentional, Love dynamic Ukulele music!

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:17am

The difficulty of the controls was made worse because the game closes after each time you fail instead of getting a chance to restart quickly. The music is great, though, and I do enjoy the feel of the art :) I'd just try making it a little bit easier to control the steering; I know it's supposed to be like controlling a boat, but it seemed even harder than steering a canoe to me :P

Yoska says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:12am

Sorry about not being able to restart quickly.

Restarting caused a weird bug which I wasn't able to resolve completely and so I made a judgement call to not include it at all. But yeah hard controls and having to reboot the game everytime is just really bad.

Hopefully once we get around making a post Ludum Dare release I will be able to address both issues. I probably won't change the controls that much, I like them challenging but I will try to communicate them a bit better and perhaps make the ship a bit slower.

My brother really did such a great job with music. Especially in such a short notice. The Jam version doesn't really do justice to it and it's still the best part of it.

You guys are too kind about the art, though. But Unity's new 2D tools were great. I didn't have time to test them before the Jam but the tools are very easy to understand and use.

This was our first Ludum Dare ever and I thoroughly enjoy it. It was very tiring and we weren't able to release as strong game as we wanted but at least I'm totally doing this again.

occash says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Nice design! and good idea! I like this control!

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Loved the idea and the resulted game ;) remembers me a bit on a gta shipmission :D

goerp says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Haha fun game. Like the music. At first I thought it didn't really fit the theme, but playing the game I found out it made sense.
It reminds me of my entry for the 'Blood in the water' mini ludum, but better.

There are a few minor bugs. Once I ran over a passenger, got blood in the water and the "death" sound, but also picked up a passenger. I'm also not sure if the accounting is right. At a end the game said I killed 10 and the sharks zero passengers? I'm pretty sureI saw some passengers being killed by sharks.

Nice.

Yoska says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 9:17pm

I uploaded a web version. The web version had that accounting problem fixed, I believe. Although I can't test it myself right now.

That passanger bug is quite funny. You are basicly taking a blood stain aboard. So you are saving a passanger but the passanger just happens to be a bit less lively
than usual. :P

Post Ludum Dare version is coming off pretty nicely.
Mostly bug fixes, a bit more visual flair, extra gameplay wrinkles and some usability updates. Building from scratch because the Jam version was pretty horrible to expand on but it should be done by the weekend and it should be a more user friendly experience (but not easier)

Broxxar says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Really long load time and performing a hard refresh to restart are a bad combination! Could you not just use Application.LoadLevel() to refresh the scene? Or was that causing bugs?

Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:13pm

very difficult to control, but that made it challenging. Overall, good job! :)

Several says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Cute entry. I think other comments have summed things up pretty well.

Regarding difficulty of controls, I wish I didn't have to look in the lower left corner to see how hard I was steering. Perhaps if the red knob were visible at the front of the ship?

And some sort of indications whether I'm going at manslaughter-speed would be nice.

thebrainfuse says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Great graphics and music... only problem is it takes too long to reload for me!

baton4ik says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:59am

I really liked it! One of the best LD games I've seen. It has a great potential.
The controls were really enjoyable for me. I want to be a captain now. The only complaint is the inability to restart, but you already now that.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]