December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Last Hack

by PlayHabit - Jam Entry

BEST PLAYED WITH A FRIEND!

If you don't have a friend, just ignore one of the players I guess... ;)

-Objective: You have 1 minute to hack the system and collect as many bits as you can. The winner is the player who has the most bits when time is over.

-COLLECT: Bits (The 1's and 0's). The more you collect, the slower you go!
-AVOID the flashing ICE block and explosive 2's
-BUMP the other player if they have more bits than you to
-USE TURBO to catch your opponent, or to make a quick getaway!
-PUT YOUR BITS IN BINS to make you faster; be sure to pick them back up before the end of the game though!
-TRAP bins so that your opponent can't take your bits!
-TAUNT your opponent!
-ENJOY the game!

-Controls: We recommend gamepads and have tested it with both PlayStation 4 controllers and the Logitech F710.

HACKER1 CONTROLS:
LEFT = A;
RIGHT = D;
JUMP = SPACE;
TURBO = LEFT SHIFT;
TAUNT = LEFT CTRL;
GET BITS FROM BIN = Z;
PUT BITS IN BIN = X;
TRAP BIN = C;

HACKER2 CONTROLS:
LEFT/RIGHT = LEFT/RIGHT ARROW;
JUMP = RETURN;
TURBO = RIGHT SHIFT;
TAUNT = RIGHT CTRL;
GET BITS FROM BIN = COMMA(,);
PUT BITS IN BIN = PERIOD(.);
TRAP BIN = SLASH(/);

CONTROLLER LAYOUT:
LEFT STICK = MOVE;
X = JUMP;
R2 = TURBO;
R1 = TAUNT;
GET BITS FROM BIN = SQUARE;
PUT BITS IN BIN = TRIANGLE;
TRAP BIN = CIRCLE;

We had a lot of fun making this; this was the first Ludum Dare game for most of the team and I think everyone did an awesome job. Hope people enjoy! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#39Humor(Jam)3.69
#52Audio(Jam)3.72
#139Innovation(Jam)3.25
#193Fun(Jam)3.08
#214Mood(Jam)3.03
#223Overall(Jam)3.17
#353Theme(Jam)2.50
#380Graphics(Jam)2.78

Comments

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:39am

This game is awesome. I love the music.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Such a fun game love the intro :D

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Fun game and amazing music. The controls are a bit hard to get used to. Great work!

Jeasonfire says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Fun and awesome music, what else does a man need?

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:55pm

I am getting a very strong Katamari vibe from the game and music. Great Job.

Side Note: Since you used Unity I would suggest making a Linux build. The Web Player does not work on Linux boxes.

PlayHabit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:19pm

We uploaded a linux build; our apologies, but we don't have a test machine handy today. If someone can confirm that things are working, we'd be very appreciative! :)

whiteknife says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Funny music and interesting gameplay!

Aaants says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:08pm

You deserve all the points for the sound alone. Good fun!

van noctar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Hard controls, but the game is funny!

Korwegian says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:39am

Dabadabadeedubedeebuhdubadabadoo.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:21am

oh. okay! that took an interesting turn :P it was an interesting concept. Well done!

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:10am

so katamari hacking. wow (Spooky NSA sound effects made me jerk my head back to see who was at my door)

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:31pm

THIS IS THE BEST MUSIC EVER. Loved the credits too, and the game ofc.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Awesome music, nice game too!

Lyje says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:05am

Fun and hilarious!

Katamori says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:01am

DAT MUSIC! INSTAFIVE for both Audio and Humor!

Enneract says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Haha amazing music and sounds :D

Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:04am

Hyper-realistic hacking simulation.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:41am

That music is just amazing. Great job guys. :D

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Guys, your linux build lacks the Data directory, so it's unusable :/

PlayHabit says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Thank you DavidErosa, we've re-uploaded. Sorry, I didn't notice it generated a data folder.

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:11pm

A bit confusing at first but awesome after all. A pity I didn't have anyone to play against :/

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]