December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

28' q7204k

by q7204k - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello. I'm q7204k. Or just Q. I'm a 3D modeler, a texture maker and.... well, a little bit of everything else.

This is my first Ludum Dare =D

The rules are simple: you need to reach the door on the left side (green sign). But you can take only one match and there is a time limit.

Controls: W & S -> Move left and right, space -> jump and E for match.

Good luck!

P.s. I had to update the game because of it's unplayable difficulty. Now it's a little bit easer. Hope i didn't break any rules....

Changes:
- player jump higher and run faster;
- matches work a little bit longer;


*my contacts:
q7204k*gmail.com
q7204k.daportfolio.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#192Theme3.46
#328Innovation3.16
#359Audio2.78
#362Mood2.95
#436Overall3.08
#569Graphics2.79
#862Fun2.29
#998Coolness48%

Comments

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:13am

Very unique application of the theme with a lot of potential, though I can't say I'm much of a fan of the pools of acid. Well done.

crockid5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:32am

Jumping mechanic felt a bit too weak.

pLaw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:16pm

I liked the idea with gettig only one match for the level. However, not landing in a pool of acid was very hard even when being able to see something.

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:17pm

I like the idea, But mechanically speaking I think it adds too much frustration to make for good gameplay. It becomes a game about remembering where you died last, rather than using the match tactically, and every level requires a few restarts.

Very well executed though, and it looks pretty.

q7204k says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Thank you everyone =)
Well, now I understand that the game is.... hmm.... a little bit too difficult =D
But I still have several ideas how to improve the gameplay and if I have enough free time I'll make a full verison.

Thank you once again for such a warm welcome =)

MMoffatt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Does a good job with mood, but it got tedious to keep replaying levels. It would help if the player could jump farther so you don't have to have perfect timing.

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:04am

Really interesting concept and take on the theme. Great mood as well. Would prefer if you could use the pack of matches throughout the level though - a little frustrating otherwise.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:43pm

I liked the idea behind this. The matches is a cool idea, especially the fact that you get a choice. The graphics and sound were good also, and gave the game a good mood.

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:48am

Were the matches just a random chance each time? Not sure what was going on there. Wish the camera was a little more zoomed in--even with a match, I had a hard time telling when I should jump.

Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Quite unique, I like the idea of the matches, very cool. I included it in part 7 of my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/1dYHR5aknGc

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:01pm

I wish the jumping was a bit... better.

Tex Killer says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 5:35am

Very interesting, but as levels grow complicated it turns into a guessing game...
Definitely promising! Keep up the good work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]