December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Oscar's World [You Only Get One Childhood]

by Gazpacho Games - Jam Entry

This is the story of a child called Oscar. He fights against the boring reality using his imagination.

CONTROLS
Use 'A' and 'D' to move.
Use 'J' to jump and 'K' to attack.

Special thanks to acfike, Kistol and Gobusto for the music.

We hope you enjoy it!

Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#166Mood(Jam)3.23
#196Graphics(Jam)3.46
#249Humor(Jam)2.41
#249Overall(Jam)3.13
#257Theme(Jam)2.78
#288Audio(Jam)2.79
#395Fun(Jam)2.52
#420Innovation(Jam)2.40

Comments

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Una dificultad digna de GazpachoGames :)
¡Enhorabuena!

NachoDA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Awesome job, guys!

I love your interpretation of "You Only Get One". Most people have made a game with one item, one power or something concrete. You used it in a very original and beuty form.

At first, the game seems so hard (maybe a Dark Souls' spin off?), but the more you play the more you realize how to do it better.

Cool and varied graphics!

DallOner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Dios como es de jodido el salto! despues de 10mins de practica ya lo demas sale facil xD

errorage says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:14pm

"You only get one childhood" is a great interpretation of the theme. The game is great, but it has one really annoying characteristic: When you change direction, your character's feet move in the opposite direction to the direction you want to move in. So if you're near a ledge, and want to back up, he'll swing a little bit in the opposite direction, falling over the ledge you wanted to avoid.

Gazpachogames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Thanks for all.

Errorage// We try to fix the bug... Thanks for the advice!

Fogokhost says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:35pm

¡Me ha gustado mucho el juego! ¡Completado de principio a fin! El estilo y el tema son muy bonitos :D
La dificultad no está nada mal, me ha encantado el nivel de huir corriendo (¡gran música también!) y el del avión especialmente.

Cosillas que como jugador le pondría pegas:
- El salto. Se hace muy raro que el personaje se mueva tan rápido cuando anda lento y se tarda un rato en acostumbrarse uno xD
- Los sonidos de los efectos a mi al menos se me han hecho un poco pesados después de oírlos varias veces.

Por lo demás, estupendo trabajo, sabiendo el tiempo en el que ha sido producido, ¡es muy buen juego!

OmegaVesko says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:35pm

The game is hard, but not in a good way - it's hard because the controls and movement are very subpar.

I love your theme, though.

Gazpachogames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Thanks Fogokhost and OmegaVesko.

We are working in change the controls... ;)

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Very cool take on the theme. The game is difficult, but not too much so, except that airplane level =P My only gripe was that jumping felt too fast, especially compared to horizontal movement. The story was also really well done. Great work!

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Great graphics and voice recorded sounds! Playability wise, I found the gravity to be rather unforgiving, which made the game quite difficult, so I would have preferred looser jumping! I would recommend implementing Sonic Physics (http://info.sonicretro.org/Sonic_Physics_Guide) and getting a feel on how to implement a really good platforming engine, it certainly helped me! Overall, good job in the time alloted :)

Gazpachogames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Thanks ThatGuy and phi6.

The airplane level...muahaha :P

We are working to do a better game with your comments... Thanks!

postmodestie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Excelsior!

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Beautiful artwork and backgrounds, love the theme setting text and moodiness. Quite sombre and reflective! As others have mentioned the controls are rather unforgiving - but as a fellow WASD+mouse developer I sympathise! Love the music too

WojWorks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Fantastic tone! ...less than fantastic jump. Seriously, fix that thing.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Hehehehe...thanks postmodestie, jimmypaulin and WojWorks.

We are fixing the bugs... :)

rvaquero82 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Grande señores, cada vez subís mas el listón.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:05am

Great Job. all of the characters are really cute.

Side Note: Since you used Unity I would suggest exporting a Linux build. The Web player does not work on Linux machines yet.

vallde says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:06am

Liked the theme and the variety of gameplay, but some mechanics feel a bit weird (like the jump during the first levels). And some levels feel like a memory game, since the camera is so close you don't have time to react and all you can do is repeat it until you memorized it.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:44am

Great job on the game you had some intresting concept.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:35am

I liked the art style and story. Very difficult though!

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:11am

Very creative use of the theme! A little more work on the jumping and movement however.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Thanks for all yours comments, guys. We're totally new in platfomers so we still have a lot of work to make it feel right but all these advices are very helpful.

About the Linux build, we'll try to release it as soon as posible. Thanks for the warning LastResortGames!

henrykun says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Not only the graphics but the audio is awesome too. I love the character and backgrounds, also the story is very nice. Well done!

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:23am

Loved the theme and style of this one - difficulty was a bit much though, particularly in the nightmare portion. Great job overall :)

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:53am

Good music, sound, an polished graphics :) good job!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:14am

The controls are too frustrating. I had to stop playing after a while because it took me two minutes to get a jump right. It makes the game frustrating. But I enjoy the idea and the implementation.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:24am

Hi all! Thanks for your comments!

:D

occash says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Good story and veeeery good graphics! But sound is very annoying)

Yaru says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Very good! The jump feels a bit weird, and the automatic scroller level is difficult, but overall, a very good work, congratulations!

Snuti says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Very nice concept and I loved how you integrated the story into the levels :) I found it a bit hard on the dark level but was really fun to play, well done :)

van noctar says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Waou! Very good game! Five star everywhere exept for the theme! Good job !

Jan 9, 2014 @ 10:57am

I made a vid of the game here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k_M582iUdSA

Jan 10, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Thanks all! We really appreciate your comments =)
@TheStawHatBerry Wow! That's really amazing, thanks a lot!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]