December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Get a Job!

by Coin Flip Games - Jam Entry

You Only Get One day to prove yourself at this job. Get to it! Take customer orders, remember who got what and make it to sunset.

Stations:

Tea - Pick a tea bag and it will start steeping. Once finished, give to the customer.

Coffee - Click "Brew" and it will start making the coffee. When it's done, click on creme or sugar if the customer asked for it and then give to the customer.

Sandwich - Click the three ingredients that the customer asked for and then give to the customer.

Smoothie - Pick the fruit the customer asked for and then click "Blend". Once it's finished, give to the customer.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#174Humor(Jam)2.75
#207Audio(Jam)3.07
#288Fun(Jam)2.80
#305Theme(Jam)2.65
#316Innovation(Jam)2.72
#328Overall(Jam)2.95
#342Mood(Jam)2.70
#395Graphics(Jam)2.73

Comments

Lazdo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:41am

Made me rage :P The days went for too long. And I was unsure how to make a sandwhich. Also, because you couldnt make 2 of the same thing at the same time, made it a little difficult

Move127 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:44am

Great game. Tons of Fun!

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:47am

Manual was shown to me 5 times. After that game stareted. Nice idea but a bit unbalanced. Move forward. :-) Great work. Like the graphics

Unept says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:47am

Love the idea! Maybe I did something wrong though, because I couldn't understand how the coffee worked. I had many angry coffee buyers. :)

j_stirk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:01am

Good fun to play, and I got that great feeling of accomplishment once I had the hang and could prepare lots of things at the same time. The daytime effect at the top was a really nice touch.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:42am

nice start for a game, i can see pushing the graphics and animation more to make it really engaging

torcado194 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:44am

very nice restaurant management-type game! well made. good job!

Lissar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:48am

I think I wouldn't last very long in this job!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:16am

Somewhat challenging, but good job!

Lacutis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:29am

Good game, liked the idea of it. Couldn't figure out how to make sandwiches and most of the coffee drinkers didnt ask for sugar or cream but it seemed like it made me put it in?

Anyway, it was fun and a nice little game.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:46am

Really difficult to figure out how to play properly - even just having to mash the mouse button to get past the newspaper screen.

metkis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:52am

VERY long day, but in the end I was hired! Interesting take on the food-making genre.

Zerkruemler says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:56am

Cool idea, it could be very much fun with a few modifications (in my opinion):
- Tutorial. I needed some minutes to understand what to click in which sequence. I also was not able to create a sandwhich
- Much shorter days. It feels so repetitive without any success of finishing a day.
Keep on the good work.
Cool music and sound effects. Have you played the song on your guitar?

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Nice idea. Keep it up.

rvaquero82 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Great :D

MrTedders says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:57am

Great game, I remember playing a lot of games like this so i picked it up really quick but with a proper tutorial level you could get newer player to this style of game comfortable with the gameplay concept!

CNIAngel says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:52am

Great game. I liked that the game got some difficult as the day progressed. The graphics were not great, but they were fitting to the current mood.

Solluxx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:10am

I found it easy enough that I was waiting for customers. Customers also stacked on each other, and I couldn't clear mess up orders. But overall really fun and pretty polished. Great job! It was all worth the Woo Hoo in the end haha

john_conder9 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:43am

Pretty good game, although I was totally confused as to what was going on for the first few minutes. Once I got the hang of it, it became really easy. I gave up playing after a while, how long is a day? It felt like forever, probably because the orders came in so slow. Was a very enjoyable game though!

MrBlade says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:53am

Good game! Very polished graphics, good tutorial, nice game play. Nice that you added sounds! Keep it up.

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:19am

Fun to challenge yourself to get orders faster and remember more. Would be interesting to have multiple difficulties where the number of orders increases, perhaps appearing after you beat the game once. A progress bar on how far you are would be nice too

lorniebear says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:50am

Made me want breakfast...

Fenixin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:17am

Really nice game! Had a lot of fun playing it! Very finished!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:36am

It is an interesting game. It would be nice to see more polished version. Good work!

digihacker says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Overall a good game !! Polish it and it will be better ! =D

TeamRoboto says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:36pm

I would like more stress with this game please =) More customers and more ordering options would make this much much better, I got the hang of it fairly quickly, and after that it lacked challenge. Apart from that it was really great!

somepx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Complex mechanics for a jam game, not bad!

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:05pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vSS57s5cpL0
My first impressions on the game

Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:05pm

@DanielSnd hilarious. You have some very valid criticisms there. Thanks for playing and making a video.

drkrunk says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:09am

This was pretty fun to play. I was confused at first but got the hang of it quickly, just like a real job. Good work!

Joao Kucera says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:02am

The theme is great! Congrats!

rojo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:14am

Today I learned that I should never be a waiter.

Moosefly says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:01pm

A nice game with a good mood (the background noises were great)! The game was somewhat short so things could've gotten a bit more hectic to add challenge. But I did enjoy it and got the job!

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Wooooohooooooo! Hired ;) But man, that was stressful! Had a really hard time keeping everyone's orders straight. Felt like the day went a little long. Would prefer shorter rounds with maybe some kind of scoring mechanic to add some replayability, but super solid entry!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Loads of fun it got tough a little but still great fun.

BeardoGames says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Wow, I'm impressed that the frustration of the days when I had this kind of job could be duplicated so perfectly. I rated it high for 'fun' because it's a fun game despite the soul crushing nature of the subject matter. This is a game ripe for expansion! Great job!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:34pm

@BeardoGames I think your feedback is my favorite so far :D Thanks everyone for all of the awesome feedback you have given us.

pjchardt says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:27am

I like the concept but I feel the execution could use some work. I was not sure how to start the game and once in game I was not sure what to do. I feel like some more feedback for the player could help them understand what is going on. For example on the main menu scale the hiring graphic on mouse hover. In the game maybe create icons for completed orders and force the player to drag this over to the customer. This changes the experience and so may be undesirable, however it does give the player an understanding of what they are doing.

deadlypear says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:56am

Nice, different take on the theme. Solid game mechanic. Nix the tutorial, but make the game play itself more intuitive. Enjoyed the music and concept.

iiechapman says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:40am

The classified section s was a nice touch. Very much like cook serve delicious. I think it solid entry. With a little more help teaching us how to make the different foods and deliver them the game would be even better. Good job.

Keith Evans says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Cool game. Loved how simple you kept it in terms of interface. I did get a little cumbersome with multiple customers.

JaJ says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:02pm

The interface could have been made more intuitive, but this seemed like a lot to make for only three days so good job.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]