December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The purge of Sombrilla

by CatskullTeam - Jam Entry

Platformer game about a security officer who got lost in the middle of a biological incident at the Sombrilla company. Troubles appear due to the company safety policy: "Just one bullet per building for security reasons".

To open a door you must push "o" in the card panel near the door. Also some doors need cards to be opened, they are recovered from killed mosnters when you recover your bullet.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#182Graphics(Jam)3.54
#183Theme(Jam)3.08
#220Mood(Jam)3.00
#279Audio(Jam)2.82
#419Overall(Jam)2.71
#451Fun(Jam)2.33
#471Innovation(Jam)2.25
#1041Coolness47%

Comments

drkrunk says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:53am

This was pretty fun. It was a bit slow when shooting and as a result my guy collapsed and died (?) a lot. But otherwise it was fun. Good job!

sirival says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:55am

I think everybody needs to play this game just to see the AMAZING shoot animation! I LOL'ed! The thing that kinda annoyed me was jumping, it was really hard to make it on a platform. Good job though!

CatskullTeam says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Yeah, our animator did a lot of work! We appreciate you like it! We added an slow mo effect when the player is shoots so this animation has more frames, maybe this effects is not well "explained" but when you shoot all the game is slowed.
Thank you so much!

sadiquo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Beautiful design, but the control for the jump was horrible...

occash says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Wow! Very good graphics! I like this colours!

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Having no conrol over the angle/length of the jump coupled with the slow shoot animation led to frustration. However, the graphics and audio were quite nice.

tobbez says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:45pm

The jump control really needs to be improved, also I got stuck in objects all the time with the only way out being restarting. The shooting animation should be a bit faster.

Almax27 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Great visual style and animation but the controls were pretty dire. Jumping over things on the ground was fine but having no air control and a forced jump movement made traversing platforms frustrating at best. I also found myself stuck on the edges of platforms sometimes and had to restart the game.

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Love the animation and art work. Gameplay was a bit too slow though, and the fact that you run so close to the edge of the screen made it very hard to see what was coming and react in time. the slo-mo gun shot doesn't really do the game favors as it just slows the pace of the game down too much. At 1st its not even clear that it is infact slow motion which is a shame. Loved the art and the humor of the game though.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:52pm

This is dope, man!! The concept is awesome, so is the execution. Will surely continue to play this for long hours.
Hats off!!

goerp says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:14pm

OK, I'm beginning to hate Unity. First it didn't work in Chrome, you can choose a resolution and the suggested one leaves stuff outside the screen.
This game I couldn't get to start. I walked around, couldn't do anything. Then thought 'that door looks labelled New game'. Couldn't click it. Restarted in higher resolution, saw another door, but not complete visible. And no way to do anything but shoot a bullit and get a game over before I started.

goerp says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Oh, that means I'm not rating the game yet. Maybe if I get it to play later on. The animations do look good.

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:39am

The animations flow flawlessly! I loved it, and the music is so catchy. I had a lot of fun ^^ the only thing is that shooting is to slow and zombies are to fast, this makes the game pretty hard but otherwise it's perfect!

psc1997 says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 4:11pm

I like soundtrack, graphics and animations. Good job! ;)
But... the controls for jump are terrible...

bukt says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 4:13pm

nothing happens?

bodsey says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:15pm

This is good looking with nice SFX. The framerate of animations is a bit low for some of them. Shooting shouldn't take so much time. I tried to shoot on the first level (it was written, so why not ?) and I lost !

Dec 29, 2013 @ 10:34pm

First of all: "lose" is spelled with one O.

The graphics here are stunning: I'm really impressed with the character sprite's animation (including multiple death animations, and the one where you yank the bullet out of an enemy), and the backgrounds are good. The music is good and conveys a lot of mood. Funny concept and great title.

Unfortunately, I found the controls so unresponsive that the game just got too hard to play: firing your gun takes too long, and jumping can be problematic as well, especially when you have a monster after you. In combination with being sent back to the beginning when you die, that made it too hard.

So yeah, great on looks and mood (especially those animations), but needs better controls to be really playable. It would definitely be worth the effort.

GarethIW says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Art and animation were pretty damn great. With some tightening of controls and collision detection it could be a really great game!

Rustam says ...
Apr 24, 2017 @ 11:10am

I have express a few of the articles on your website now, and I really like your style of blogging.
http://usefulbee.ru

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]