December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

System Control

by conormn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In this human body sustaining simulator take control of your only test subjects internal systems ( digestive, circulatory and respiratory ) to keep him alive as long as you choose. The final Post-Compo version features tighter controls, revised dialogue and additional sound effects.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#7Graphics4.49
#23Audio3.81
#44Humor3.76
#60Overall3.77
#70Innovation3.75
#134Mood3.43
#185Fun3.38
#364Theme3.13

Comments

mcapraro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:58am

really great look to this, great job!

conormn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:15am

Hey thanks @mcapraro! Your game looks really neat too! Best of luck.

burgerdare says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:19am

extremely enjoyable, and highly polished. A little bit of a stretch on the theme, I feel, but still a solid flash game

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:20am

Hahah a great style! :-)
I saw you blogging images earlier today... quite interesting to see it working now! :D

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:21am

I couldn't keep him alive, but I love it.

Gtoknu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:21am

Really awesome! It got boring after a while (too easy to keep him alive) It would be awesome to have something to
1: prevent people from abusing the space key, as if you press space when the line isnt within the bars, the patient lose some health
2: add some rhythm to lungs, like if you change too early, the respiration would be too fast, losing health.

thats all, awesome game!

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:22am

I learned that I should never be a doctor :S. Cool game though, definitely was hard to keep up with!

ferrzo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:28am

Quite hard, but really great fun :)

ashen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:04am

Great presentation, humor and music! Pretty hard to multi task the support machines, but clever idea.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:10am

wow, first game? geez, i have no hope! ;) great job, really awesome graphics and an amazing first effort

biggestgeek says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:15am

Your first!? Man, I feel bad for my effort. Nice work and graphics there! Great job!

jugglerrob says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:16am

Looks and sounds amazing. My guy died a few seconds in on my first try but lasted a couple minutes my second after I learned I could just spam the buttons.

JayProg says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:26am

Fun little concept with amazing visuals.

Blupsy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:29am

That was pretty fantastic. A shining example of a polished game in 48 hours.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:31am

Loved the aesthetic. Loved the mechanic. But I killed my test subject horribly.

TaleLore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:39am

Cool aesthetics.

conormn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:44am

@AlanZucconi
@burgerdare
@emmelineprufrock
@andrewkennedy
@ferrzo
@ashen
@jugglerrob
@JayProg
@Blupsy
@OnlySlightly
@TaleLore

Really glad you liked it. :)

conormn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:49am

@mcapraro
@biggestgeek

To be honest I've been in the advertising industry for years illustrating and animating various dumb stuff. I've never tried putting a game together by myself till this weekend tho. But now that I have, I have to admit I'm kinda hooked...

funselektor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:35am

I lasted 3 seconds. Superb graphics, it's like a blend between a web-design infographic and polished flash game. Very fun, but there was no restart button :(

conormn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:44am

@funselektor glad you liked it, but there wasn't a restart cause "you only get one" test subject :)

alesys says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:17am

Looks great! I found it a little difficult. But the idea is fantastic and well executed. Congrats!

Lustdante says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:23am

The only problem I have with this game is that you can keep the test subject going just with respiratory and digestive system. Other than that, it's awesome!

GravityScore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:31am

Amazing game!

Taldius says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:09am

Very fun game, I love the concept... Living is so HARD in this game!

pereubu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:38am

Awesome idea :D

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Ha ha, this one it's a blast! Good game mate, is it your first? Amazing job!

conormn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:59pm

@Lustdante Totally agree. At some point I'm going to go back and fine tune the controls. Just didn't have time this weekend.

@somepx - Thanks! I've done the art for a few games over the years, but this is the first game I've made by myself.

@alesys
@GravityScore
@Taldius
@pereubu
Really happy you guys liked it!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Best game I've played so far this LD! The visual design is just fantastic and it looks and feels very polished and professional... Love the little details like the guys comments!

mactinite says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:37pm

This was interesting. Was very difficult at first, but after realizing there was no consequence for just mashing the jkeys that's what it turned into. Neat concept and wonderful visuals though.

barkergames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:03am

I love the graphics, great job!
Are you supposed to just be able to mash the keyboard like crazy? Didn't provide much difficulty(except tiring my fingers :)

conormn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:48am

@Linus Lindberg - Really glad you're into it :)

@barkergames & @mactinite - I'll be going back and adding slight penalties for hitting buttons at the wrong times which should hopefully help with the tired fingers :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Great game, looks good but got tedious after a while.

Tonasz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:40pm

AWESOME! Best game seen here so far. What I loved the most is character talking whole welcome splash screen - I was just waiting to see what he's gonna say. [Yes test subject, just hang out sounds fun!] And black screen after death is good aproach to theme - simple lack of restart button repairs the flaw of the other games ("oh yes, you got only one life... but why not to restart?")

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:06pm

This is a really different and polished-looking entry! It's really quite difficult to play, though, and it kind of felt like the best approach was just to mash buttons, rather than carefully time anything, given that everything was so fast and there weren't any obvious penalties for false presses.

conormn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:01pm

@Tonasz So glad you liked it :) I had originally intended to build out a larger story, like him escaping from this underground facility Portal™ style and you having to keep him alive the entire time. But that would have been too much work, so opted instead for a few speech bubbles. Maybe some day...

conormn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:07pm

@JaymeeMak - I'm for sure going to go back and fine tune the controls. Mashing the buttons will quicken the death.

@MrAmazingSocks - Just think how bored our internal organs must be!

Lissar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Great style. It's a good thing these processes are automatic as I'd probably be dead by now.

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:33am

Really cool, I'm impressed it was your first thing you've programmed. The whole idea was fun to play, and the person you were keeping alive was pretty funny. Nice work!

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:33am

Was trying to find the rythm, but I ended up just spamming to keep him alive. Really good music and cool idea!

conormn says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:23am

@Lissar We could learn a thing or two from our internal buddies.

@Jellycakes Thanks so much for playing it, was really a treat!

@Nick Weihs This could totally be a rhythm game. I'm probably not good enough yet to make that happen tho.

Korwegian says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:22am

The cramps! THE CRAAAAAMPS!

miwuc says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:08am

Very polished, doesn't feel at all like a game that was made in 48 hours. Also fun.

stigmawall says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Aw damn, he want to die! Awesome work!

Nelien says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:44pm

I enjoyed it for the first minute but then it gets very easy once you get the hang of it and it is, by its nature, very repetitive. More diversity and an increasing level of difficulty could make this into a pretty darn good mobile game -- also the heartbeat could be in sync with a song you choose; but that's just me.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Far to easy once you get going, by which I mean I discovered I could even run just two of the organs, and have him not breath for a minute or so, with no ill effects. Other than that, really great entry, loved the audio and humor of the talking patient.

Jan 3, 2014 @ 11:40am

Haha, I'm really not multifunction, but the game is gooood.

goerp says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Hmm, all the parts are so good. Maybe one of the best I've seen.
The graphics are in a neat html5-style, the music fits the game, makes it more enjoyable and can be listened to for longer periods.
Well executed theme by not having a 'play again?' feature.
Wacky out of control controls that make the game suitably frantic.
But the best part for me were the texts. Very funny!

Just a tiny tiny remark: the instructions could have been a bit larger. But there is a good thing about that: if you play without reading you'll soon find out, that that's NOT the way.

GFM says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Great game and nice polish!
I kept watching the menu for a while, until I thought there were no more lines... XD

anvoz says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Nice game. Really good graphics and music. The game was quite hard for me but it's fun to play.

Jan 3, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Very minimal, polished and hard! Great entry!

ittlebit says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Very polished. It's difficulty curve is up there but that's part of the fun. The writing was hilarious as well.

rogueNoodle says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Love the polish behind this one - it just felt cool. Unique, tricky gameplay mechanic too, though I agree there should be something in place to prevent button spamming. Great entry!

Jan 9, 2014 @ 2:22pm

I made a video of this game:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=liYbaOOvKHE

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]