December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Power Ball - The Cube Apocalypse

by bananaAndGames - Jam Entry

The red pill tries to survive in a virtual world filled with CUBES! You only get one POWER BALL in order to avoid the APOCALYPSE!

Controls :
ASDW : move
Mouse 1 : charge attack
Mouse 2 : Attract ball to you :)

[Edit] Added a version without the infinit banana bug ( :( )

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#27Fun(Jam)3.86
#71Overall(Jam)3.66
#74Audio(Jam)3.59
#81Theme(Jam)3.45
#97Mood(Jam)3.50
#125Innovation(Jam)3.28
#179Humor(Jam)2.71
#240Graphics(Jam)3.31

Comments

paras238 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:56pm

A perfect example of sticking to the basics. The gameplay is really nice and fast paced. It's a wonder how even the most basic things on Unity can be turned into something cool and addictive

TBSHRichard says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Overall great game. The idea was good and the graphics and audio fit well together.

A mute button/volume control for the audio would have been nice. None of the music or sounds were annoying for me, but some might find them annoying. For that reason it would have been nice for software control over audio so that the player doesn't have to touch their system's volume.

The 3 different game modes weren't so different so I feel it would have been better to work on making a single polished game mode as opposed to 3 similar ones.

I found it better to move diagonally since you move faster. I'm guessing it was implemented as moving right adds so many pixels to the x-component and moving down adds so many pixels to the y-component. Using this method allows diagonal travel to be sqrt(2) times faster than non-diagonal travel! In the future, use the Pythagorean Theorem or trigonometric functions to avoid this.

With the first game mode, the health power-up doesn't disappear after collecting it. I don't know if that was intentional or not, but if it were, I don't think it should be. It made me travel to the bottom of the level more often than the other areas to pick up some health whenever I needed it.

Great job guys, and keep up the good work!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Woooo best game I tested for the moment ! Addictive and great music, good job! =)

tobbez says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:44pm

An interesting game, If you have diffrerent game modes they need to be actually different. In the survive 3 minutes one you don't actually gain anything by surviving 3 minutes the level just stop.

vapgames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Very fun game, the dynamics work well, the controls and object velocities feel right. With some more work could become a perfect arcade-drug.
I'd suggest making the player different color from the enemies, and giving player less health, but making enemies easier to avoid.
PLEASE upload a web-player version so more people could play it!

eternalmajin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:14pm

This was awesome. Charging up a shot and bowling through what felt like a hundred enemies was rewarding. I'd like to see this expanded.

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Nice take on the theme :D, the music is also nice :D

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:29pm

It's not and untitled alpha. Points for that.

The first two gamemodes are way too easy. I can survive in the second one for as long as I want thanks to enemies making too little damage and an endless supply of bananas (that's a bug right?).

On the other hand the third mode I'm a fan of. It's more hectic and doesn't suffer from the infinite bananas.

The highscores should be separate for each gamemode and they don't seem to be saved anywhere outside the application.

insane66 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:19am

That is a fun quick paced game. Great!

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:44am

this makes fun^^ i keep making new highscores :D

Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:57am

Man I love this one! Really great atmosphere, and the music is so damn catchy.

The only complaint that I have is that it wasn't so clear as to what exactly I was supposed to do after I shot the ball. Once I figured out that you are supposed to retrieve the ball (Doh!) then the game really picked up.

But otherwise I loved it! I get that sort of "crunchy" feeling that games like this have whenever you barrel through a ton of enemies. Definitely a 5/5 on fun, and that's what counts!

Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:55am

Awesome game. Keeping this in my LD28 favorites. The movement speed and controls could use a little tweaking maybe(it felt too much like I was gliding) With some good assets and a more engaging setting this could be really addicting.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:37am

Perfectly executed! And seriously addicting, burned away too much time playing this. The visuals and sound are pretty awesome too. Thumbs up.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Really novel attract/launch shooting mechanic and the overall gameplay was simple yet absolutely addictive.

Clavus says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Great audio, straightforward art style, and a simple and fun game mechanic. Nice job :)

Namide says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Nervous and dynamic, a very good game !

Jeremias says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:57am

Very addictive game. The graphics and the music give this a nice touch. It's sometimes a bit annoying that enemies spawn right into you. And then, I had a lot fun with using the ball like a boomerang, letting it miss me so it bounces off the walls.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]