December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Abandon your City

by floetenmaul - Jam Entry

Story
Your city has been evacuated by an evil robot corporation. Take control over Carl, the last citzizen to escape the mechanical threat. Find the keycard and a way through the city to make it into your safe bunker.

Gameplay
Carl isn't the brightest guy out there. He only can handle one item at a time. So if you find a powerful powerup in this randomly generated city, Carl has to (temporarly) throw away the one in his hands to use it.

Background
This is our first attempt to use unity3d as our main tool. So although unity is a wonderful tool, unfortunately many parts of our game aren't exactly ready atm. But we hope, that'll you have fun, strolling around Carl's hometown nonetheless.

Cheers

Team:
Dennis Jung, Patrick Tejada, Philipp Erler, Dominik Schneider, Patrick Wachowiak, Tobias Mueller

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#157Graphics(Jam)3.71
#299Theme(Jam)2.67
#305Mood(Jam)2.80
#323Audio(Jam)2.67
#381Fun(Jam)2.56
#397Overall(Jam)2.78
#471Innovation(Jam)2.25
#1571Coolness22%

Comments

Lyje says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:28am

Great graphics, love the style! Plays well, pretty solid game. Music is nice, sounds need some work, could do with more feedback (graphically and audibly) on firing and hitting etc.

harsanalif says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:54am

Love the graphic style, but the shooting effect certainly need more improvement. Maybe a minimap could help navigate the city better?

floetenmaul says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Yeah, you're completely right! Feedback is also one of the greatest flaws. Its hard to get, what's going on ;) Actually there's a minimap (if you press "m").
Cheers

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Neat pixel art. :)

ACE says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:36pm

great game but could tell it was uncompleted, my items had no name, only found one gun and i couldn't complete the game as there was a gold object (key maybe) that i could not pick up

havana24 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Needs a bit more feedback IMHO, but it's well done!

psychonull says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:12pm

niceeee I like it. maybe a controls info?, like the "m" you put on comments. and the "k" is like a short cut to end? XD. nice sound, and movement. graphs ok

jackolondon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:06am

love the graphics, but i didn't succeed :s

raarlac says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Really nice interaction between 2D and 3D in Unity. It's a shame this is a jam game, because I would love to check the source

Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Great Job!

Some Unity Advice: Export a Linux build as well (at least for the Dare) since the Web player does not work on Linux boxes.

In the player settings there is a "Webplayer Template". (You should see it immediately.) One of the options is "No Context Menu" which means when you right click no menu will show up.

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:05am

Nice game. I wish there were more weapons and a mini-map to show where I've been and where I'm supposed to go.

Dec 25, 2013 @ 12:14am

Really nice game, I also think there should be a mini-map but good job! I included this game in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series if you'd like to check it out! http://youtu.be/CxUIxKQApqc

SaintHeiser says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 4:09am

Only graphics and animations good in this game. But so boring for me.

GFM says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Seeing 2D sprites in a 3D isometric game is always nice. XD

Good job.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]