December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Porcunipine

by AndreRodrigues - Jam Entry

"Oh, how I miss the early days...
All I gotta do was poke around with my dangerous and fabulous hair.
Now, the time has passed and there's not much left.
And with the lack of it, came all of my problems."
(Porcunipine, the balding porcupine)

How to Play:
Shoot the wolverines. Go fetch your spike. Shoot them again. Collect your enemies' skulls.

Keyboard controls: Arrows to move, spacebar/shift to shoot.

Xbox controller: Left analog/D-Pad to move, A shoots.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#16Theme(Jam)4.00
#17Humor(Jam)3.89
#27Fun(Jam)3.86
#50Overall(Jam)3.77
#77Graphics(Jam)4.14
#109Audio(Jam)3.40
#121Innovation(Jam)3.29
#194Mood(Jam)3.11
#1283Coolness40%

Comments

IHateATMFees says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:20am

Nice job, plays well. Thanks for the joypad support! PS4 controller works, square button shoots.

tatelax says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:25am

Really great concept. Love the art style.

glovecat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:32am

Really Cool art-style! And the theme fit perfectly with your game. Great job!

GravityScore says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:41am

Really addictive and awesome! Great job! Love the graphics and the effects!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Love the premiss. Nice art too.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:03pm

This is super fun. I love the voice acting.

ponk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Nice, cool and funny game !

JALgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Don't know if it's because I'm too bad, but although the graphicsa are nice, the look doesn't have any variety.

pusheax says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Exceptional quality. Great fun. Very enjoyable sounds and music.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:00pm

We also uploaded the game to Kongregate so we could have an easy highscore for now and added Esc to skip the intro, everything else is the same as the version here.

http://www.kongregate.com/games/BigGreenPillow/porcunipine

Thanks for the feedback we are really happy to have finished something! xD

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Its superb awesome game, dude!
It's fun and joke. Hedgehog with one needle is really powerful rush from the ideas store.
Great work!

Manou says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Brillant.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Fixed the highscore problem on kongregate now the highscores should update correctly there =]

Faust says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Love the idea to kill yourself. :)

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Man, so good - one of my favourites so far!

Gungnir says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:17am

You made my morning with this one. Lovely design, super charming characters. Excellent feedback, too. Concur with other assessments of brilliance here :)

2HitAdam says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:45am

Wicked art, sweet music, fun story and challenging gameplay. This game ticks every box! Favourite entry so far :)

michail says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Great game! Well balanced and very polished. I love the character design and sounds.

lowcade says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 12:41am

Wow! Nice concept, work, colors and style. I love your game! Congratulations!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]