December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Look

by bluemanshoe - Jam Entry

You wake up to find yourself alone in a dark world. Try to make your way out with only one look at the entire level at your disposal. Avoid the monsters and obstacles in your way as you search for a way out of this creepy realm, relying on more than just your eyes.

WASD or arrows to move, number keys for items. M to mute music. SPACE to pause. Use headphones, as stereo sound implemented. Google Chrome browser recommended. Powered by JavaScript and HTML5 canvas. Web based.

External libraries: howler.js for sound, astar.js for AI. Everything else done from scratch. Sounds recorded on Zoom H4n, textures in GIMP/Inkscape. It was great fun rolling our own lighting algorithms.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#96Mood(Jam)3.51
#118Innovation(Jam)3.30
#155Overall(Jam)3.35
#164Audio(Jam)3.22
#216Fun(Jam)3.00
#219Theme(Jam)2.92
#341Graphics(Jam)2.95
#440Humor(Jam)1.50

Comments

gene-z says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Congratulations, nice game, top art kkk... kidding, love the game.... keep the good work :-)

wespaugh says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:53am

Awesome lighting. Not sure what the colour differences were in the enemies. I suspect the answer is none, but if that's so, I think I'd rather them just be the same colour. I wasted a good bit of time looking for behavioural differences.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Not a bad effort I liked your approach to the top down it was simple and effective.

srimech says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Very nice. The lighting is really well done. The yellow guys are ones to watch out for, they seem much quicker than the others. I didn't get any sound here (Chromium/Ubuntu) so I had to leave that as N/A.

TFJO says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:44am

Nice! Although there's 2 parts where I wonder whether they were bugs or intentional:
1) The crumbs don't reset between restarts.. But now that I think of it, they wouldn't make much sense otherwise...
2) At least one of the monsters didn't lose its "target lock" after a restart/death, the red one in the second level started out patrolling the first time I entered it, but afterwards always immediately made a beeline for me, which made it probably more difficult than intended...

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:44am

I love games that rely on light as a mechanic! way under used. Thanks for the game!

Unept says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:14am

Nice mood. Got a little freaked with headphones in. Well done.

blink says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:34am

I like it :D I was curious when you said where headphones, the fear came upon me! Fun!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:46am

good job but i dont enjoy

mcapraro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:18am

neat idea for sure

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:09am

Monster sounds were creepy. This idea popped in my head for this theme, happy to see someone take it and actually make it a game.

weazen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:10am

Very good idea with the theme. Lighting is really nice. Audio was very well done as well. Good job all around!

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Awesome game. I really liked the idea, but movement felt a bit too slow.

Cawrtz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Very nice. Creepy atmosphere, home-made noises, very challenging but a lot of fun. Congratulations !

Gravedrinker says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Very nice, but very touch. Slow and methodical is the way to go no, not like me trying to run past the monsters. They will get you sooner or later that way.
Good job and idea, I'll try and play it again for sure.

lasagnegames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Really loved the lighting, one day you'll have to tell me how you pulled that off with Javascript and HTML (over a Whisky and a Cigar!) ;-) Good job! Guitar is very moody!

AaronGordon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:06am

Loved the concept. Got very tense in some parts where the SFX really play a bit part. Revealing what killed you would have been cool as i died a lot without knowing why. Good job!

john_conder9 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:38am

Really cool game, but it kept locking up on me in level 2 and 3. The biggest gripe I had about this is the movement feels..wrong. I don't know, maybe it's because of the play on light but the whole rotating thing just made movement really hard for me. I kept running into walls and it didn't feel like I had tight control over the guy. Is that intentional? Maybe, I don't know, but I felt like the game was enough of a challenge just navigating the maze and avoiding the monsters personally. Anyway, cool game. I loved the atmosphere and the bread crumbs were really clever (although the first time I played it they bugged and didn't produce light? It was weird.)

Mekuri says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:36am

Nice game. I loved the idea. I liked that the crumbs stayed between deaths, nice touch. All in all a very good game. I found it quite entertaining.

grifdail says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Whaou ! The mood is ammazing... Realy good job ! I love it... Saddly I was only able to use the "light bomb". The other did'nt do anything.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:14am

This got my heart racing. Them monsters were scary. *slobbering noise* *red light* AH MAH GAHD

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]