December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Only one chance at one way out

by Gerben Limburg - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You'll need to install XNA Redistributable 4.0 to run this game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#276Innovation3.24
#603Fun2.71
#829Graphics2.20
#881Overall2.48
#928Theme1.95
#1231Coolness42%

Comments

alcorrius says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:52pm

"You'll need to install XNA Redistributable 4.0 to run this game." - bad idea...

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Wow! I really love the concept of this game and it looks super interesting :) but I, sadly, am on a mac :(

Radnen says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:34am

A very well done maze game, by adding the fact you have to type your way through refreshes the experience.

mruno says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Good idea and fun, I know it has an arcade system, but it's a little short

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:18am

This isn't bad, but it's not clear how having randomized letters for direction works towards improving the gameplay experience, besides slowing the player down while they look for the right key.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:07pm

I think it would work best with SFX and maybe somes retries.
Good beep and green flash when you succeed, Red flash and buzzer when you're wrong with 3x little hearts on top of the screen.

bodsey says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Nice and simple idea, good job !

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Really neat idea. And I really liked the maze generation

StMatn says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 4:29pm

I like the navigation method :)
Well done!

jprogman says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:19pm

This is a nice game for using the keyboard. One suggestion would be to track errors instead of ending the game when you mistype.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]