December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

GravityBlooper

by ricklesauceur - 48 Hour Compo Entry

GravityBlooper is a game about a soviet module doing its best to came back to earth.

You have to handle the trajectoy and the main thruster (you only get one so use it wisely) to land safely.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#427Innovation3.00
#511Mood2.73
#546Humor2.13
#551Theme2.78
#614Audio2.25
#843Graphics2.17
#868Overall2.50
#876Fun2.26
#998Coolness48%

Comments

TheCams says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:46am

This game is too easy :P

Udell Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Managed it first time. Was a little difficult working out what was going on. Game is pretty basic, considering it was made in Unity, but I can see there could be fun in a Kerbal Space Program sort of way if you extended it. Could also really benefit from some deep bassy rumbles as you enter the atmosphere and some wind noises (check out bfxr for that sort of thing).

PaulRdi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Interesting mechanics. But maybe to few of them. The russian writing added to the theme nicely and didn't stop you from understanding what the game was trying to tell you.

lincore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Interesting, but there was not much to do and I don't know if I landed safely because the game restarted instantly. I do like the theme and mood though, the shaking, the sound, particles, the cyrillic text etc.
Some russian voice acting on top would even make me consider rating the mood with six :~)

ricklesauceur says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Hehe, my step brother spoke russian (but i did the sound work at 1am so ...), i had to cut features like parachute to make it fit into the 48h. I know the end is not very clear, thanks for the review !

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Haha.. I spent like half an hour trying to land... still couldn't do it!
But I had fun!

feizenbara says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Hard to figure out what I'm supposed to do :/

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:04am

Not sure if I 'won'? Text was still red at the end, despite a soft (I think?) landing? I'm learning Russian, so was nice to recap some vocab! :D

ricklesauceur says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:00am

Hehe i should have put a leaderboard ;)

Xavier says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:20pm

I love the idea, but it would be better with another graphics (like an old and creepy soviet terminal). Some physics are missing I guess :?

dray says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:15pm

You have to play this game just for the thruster sound ! really nice game, simple mechanic but well made, very entertaining! good job

ricklesauceur says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Xavier i though about the old soviet terminal (even if the current soyouz works on MS-DOS). Physics is not really missing, more like a parachute :D

Tx @dray.

van noctar says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:23am

Good job! I'm a futur astronaut ! :D

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Great job, the camera shake and the audio added to the intensity

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]