December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Molten Progeny

by tcarter - Jam Entry

You are a Phoenix. Protect your egg from the hungry Nashers.

Use WASD to move.
Left click and hold to shoot.
Press E to activate fire rage. Swoop into enemies while raging to damage them, or into your egg to heal it.
Press R to restart.

This game was made in 3 days for the Ludum Dare 28 Game Jam.

Like what you see?
Programming and Design by Ted Carter (http://www.stencyl.com/users/index/22818)
Graphics were created by Leif Holt (https://www.facebook.com/leif.holt.3)

Like what you hear?
Sound Effects were created by Michael Jones (http://mikejonesaudio.com/)
Soundtrack created by Andrew Dent (https://soundcloud.com/dent-head)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#78Graphics(Jam)4.13
#109Audio(Jam)3.40
#183Overall(Jam)3.27
#214Mood(Jam)3.03
#216Fun(Jam)3.00
#217Theme(Jam)2.93
#285Innovation(Jam)2.79
#303Humor(Jam)2.22
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

ZXeno says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:45am

Really had a lot of fun with this! Solid gameplay, excellent music and visuals.

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Very cool! This needs more plays. Solid stuff, really like the character animations and the effects. Some effects like exploding flames that stick to walls etc, as power ups would be cool. :)

Bloated Hippo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:39am

This is amazing.

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:43am

Nice game but needed better level design.

Todd Luke says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:43am

0198 beat THAT

super good art. is there some kind of conclusion, or is it endless?

Lyje says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:45am

Graphics were slick, but gameplay felt a bit stilted and unpolished. Not sure what it had to do with the theme?

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:45am

I can't find many flaws with this game. It is well paced and it sounds and looks beautiful. You've done an amazing job.

ocathalain says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:46am

Really loved this! Solid game, great idea, and really polished considering the time it was made in.

_zulli says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:46am

Cool gameplay! Really good graphics and it gets really hard with time! Great job!! :)

If you have time, please rate my game! I would really appreciate it! :)

Switchbreak says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:49am

Nice, I got 179 points in it. It seemed too easy to start off, but ramped up fairly quickly. It could use some more options on the defense side to add strategic depth to it, maybe some pickups to collect from the enemies. The ending seemed very sad, I don't know if there is any way to actually save your egg or if it always ends with a sad phoenix.

rukbotto says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:52am

I enjoyed it a lot! I liked too much the audio and graphics.

ryangatts says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:13am

Fun game! I wish the fire rage ability let me shoot fireballs more often rather than do more damage with individual balls, that would make it much better for handling swarms of little guys that can often be a problem. Also, it's easy to accidentally hit R when you mean to hit E, so maybe next time switch it to something harder to hit like Enter. Critiques aside, I love the art, it's really impressively cohesive!

AHerdOfCats says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:22am

Amazing spritework, really love the colors you guys used!

tcarter says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:33am

Thanks for the insightful comment, ryangatts! Remember that if you're raging you can take out the little guys just by flying into them. It's a good idea to move back and forth around your egg while shooting if you're raging so you can deal damage from fireballs and contact.

blasmena says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:05pm

I love the art. I had fun, monsters jump kinda funny though.

bsowers says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:06am

Loved the pixel art and the sounds. Gameplay was pretty fun.

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:44am

Looks great, plays well!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:42am

Cool gfx! Gets hard pretty soon, needed more levels.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:48am

I got the ending. Touching :) Great work all round. Impact FX and a more obvious target graphic for cursor would be nice.

loxo says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:47am

Great game! I like the graphics and the audio a lot. But it's a bit hard to control on a notebook without a mouse.

Pomb says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Agree with comments on needing better level design. Also felt that the control wasn't enough to swoop well enough, because it's too snappy.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:04pm

really well done, i loved the graphics and the game play made instant sense

pele says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Nice game, I like the graphics and it's fun. A bit difficult to play on my notebook though (lack of mouse), but that's not your fault. :)
I enjoyed this a lot!

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Great art, I wish there were some way to win. Fighting off an endless horde is fun an all, but not when you are a mother protecting her offspring.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Nice little game well polished :)

Zerkruemler says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:26am

Nice graphics and music. It reminds me heavily on the old C=64 game style. Well done!

robhor says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:19am

The art and music are fantastic!
Gameplay could be a bit more varied, but overall good game!

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:31pm

I love the art style in this.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]