December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Small Step

by metalslime - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WASD or cursor keys to move, can press space bar to jump as well. May need to click on flash to give focus if playing from browser.

You only get one shot to get through the whole game. Dying sends you all the way back to the beginning.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#557Graphics2.81
#689Mood2.48
#710Audio1.85
#758Humor1.56
#766Overall2.67
#783Theme2.37
#857Fun2.30
#897Innovation2.15

Comments

Donutttt says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:06pm

I like the boosters. It's difficult so starting again is painful but I like it - very addictive

ob6160 says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Addictive and nice :)

DhantonGames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Sometimes a bit frustrating, but still fun.

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Too punishing... But good.

_zulli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:32pm

I got stuck on the ceiling after using a booster :C
Pretty cool game! It's addictive and frustrating sometimes :P
Great job :)

If you have time, rate my game too! I would really appreciate it :D

Radnen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:36pm

The game is fun and challenging, as with all platformers your timing gets better. The speedup blocks make it more than just a lousy platformer: it adds variety to the difficulty.

somepx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Interesting level design - player should fall according to gravity tho. Simple and fun!

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:00am

Adictive! But sound.. its very strident

sam1373 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Really? The theme interpretation... The game plays nice, but I can't appreciate that because I quickly lost any will to progress, since I just return to the first level, so you could as well only have one.

Dec 28, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Really professional entry: nicely animated sprite, well-designed levels. The jump sound effect is good, though some music would have been nice.

Unfortunately, jumping could be better, and getting sent back to the beginning every time you die feels a bit harsh. I might come back to it later, but right now, it just seems too hard for me.

Dec 29, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Fun little game here! i don't like how the sound effect when jumping is very loud :S Sometimes the collision fails but never got stuck. Great work on the game :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]