December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Awake

by Slothmachine - Jam Entry

Awake is a simple rhythm game played with only one button, SPACE.

First 48h was not enough for this one. Thank god for the extra 24h I got the game in somewhat playable state. :)

and my original plan was to do something small in 20h and spent the rest of the weekend buying presents... Hah

now I think I need to rest a while...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1571Coolness22%

Comments

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:21am

That was pretty good.

hadesfury says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:51am

Nicely done, good mood, variety in sound could have been cool!

bitserum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:29am

Nice, a bit hard, but fun! Did I wake it up or kill it?

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:07am

@hadesfury
I managed to make a system for looping track player, but didn't have time to make the music part.

@bitserum
Kill it :( "Hurt" and "Die" animations were faster to do than "Dance" and "Celebrate". I just wanted to learn Unity Mecanim so didn't spend that much time on animations.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Oh my god, this cat! demon cat? I don't know, but it makes the game! Nice idea & mood

mcapraro says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:10am

nicely done graphics and the feedback is actually really smooth an interesting.

Ashtom says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Superb ambiance! Kind of creepy and hypnotic.

dudsen says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:49pm

"and my original plan was to do something small in 20h" Haha, sounds familiar. Had like 4h sleep at the weekend. Really short game, but the style is killer man! Super smooth animations (even if you didn't spend so much time on them). Thanks for the source as well, Im really interested in rhythm mechanics in general. Again, kudos for this!

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Nice game, rythm games are very rare on LDs... I like the mood, I found the game easy too, but anyway, Good job! :)

Dec 26, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Nice, hard game. Good job! I included it in my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/mm02WUCsrPg

Diptoman says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Wow, really cool. Great mood and graphics. A bit hard, but fun nonetheless.

Jan 3, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Its great. The minimalistic graphics work well, and the animation is really good!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]