December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ultra Volleyball Impact

by Poupi - Jam Entry

Made in 72h for the Ludum Dare Jam #28 .

You're the captain of an intergalatic voleyball team, but the rest of your team ate a bad shawarma. You have to win the match alone, good luck !

Gameplay : pretty similar as Windjammers, except that you're alone vs two or four guys. Collect powerups for cool effects (speed up, curved shots...), and try to beat the opposing team !

Normal mode : 2 opponents
Hard mode : 4 opponents (really hard)
Move with awsd/arrows (controls can be changed in the config window), aim and shoot with the mouse.


Made by : Robin Picou & Amaury Guilley
Music : Electric Children - Car Jack

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Fun(Jam)4.19
Coolness61%
#9Overall(Jam)4.16
#14Audio(Jam)4.07
#17Graphics(Jam)4.52
#34Mood(Jam)3.83
#60Innovation(Jam)3.53
#128Theme(Jam)3.25
#258Humor(Jam)2.38

Comments

TheCams says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Great graphics and good gameplay, even if a bit hard ! :P
Well done !

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Good stuff folks! The graphics and music really are impressive! Smooth gameplay. It might be an idea to add a 'charge throw' mechanic, that would be nice I think. The game itself was quite hard, but fun. Job well done, nice entry!

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Awesome work, guys. Everything looks and sounds great, and the gameplay is really intuitive. Definitely one of my favorite entries so far.

sirerr says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Oh, I love this game, awesome idea, looks great, good job!

Fadobo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Awesome game! A bit hard as mentioned before, but other than that it's da bomb. Need - Multiplayer - NOW!

pereubu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:44pm

wow, great art and sound

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Is the magenta trail intended to be magenta, or is it a broken shader? XD I'm so biased now when I see Unity3D games! :D

mcapraro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:49am

really well done! the graphics are really good and the game play was challenging. i could maybe see some easier rounds at first so it doesnt feel like i suck so bad at it ;)

Poupi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:22am

The magenta trail isn't a broken shader :) .
Yep I know it's a bit hard, but i had not enough time to make the AI easier ...

danbo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Love windjammers, love this shit! I'm bad at it but it's slick as all hell and I love the tunes. Y'all knocked it out the damn park

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Nicely done, bit hard for me :/
Hard to get at beginning and cant relate to the theme :o

stenol says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:25pm

It's hard but it's a very good game. :)

Chinchilla says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Wowsers trousers, this is outstanding! I'm confused though, is the music by one of your team, or not?

Geoege says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:30pm

OMHAGAD MAKE A MULTIPLAYER MODE PLS.

Really great job, and really want to play it against friends.
Love it.

Agram says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:32pm

The game need a dive or a charge, but it is greatly made. It is my favorite so far. Good job!

scoobyben says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Awesome graphics!A bit hard even on normal mode, but not too much so that it ruins the game

Lyje says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Difficult but very cool.

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:13pm

The KI doesn't always find the "ball". But when it does it's almost undefeatable, even on normal! :D But still a funny and nice game!

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Cool!

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Wow, I'm impressed. But why does the other team get two players? It's hard enough, huh.

meek says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Really nice game. Loving the speedball theme! Quite a hard game, even on normal. Managed to score 2 at most haha! But i was getting better when the game glitched. The disc was on their side and neither of the AI opponents were retrieving it. Not sure if you were aware of this already :)

Poupi says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Yup, there's still some glitches with the Normal mode. The game was designed to be played against 4 opponents, but it was way to hard so i made a game mode with only two of them. But the IA wasn't designed to work well with only two guys.

"Wow, I'm impressed. But why does the other team get two players? It's hard enough, huh."
"You Only Get One" :)

JoeManaco says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Wow. Awesome Entry. Great overall style and fun as hell. Would love to play this in multiplayer ;)

kumoi says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:14am

Great entry! love the graphics and particles. Really hard though

sfdnetwork says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:31am

Very fun high intense action. Loved It.

cesisco says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Great job!If you tweak a little bit the dificulty level, this would be super awesome.

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:06am

Awesome idea, and I love the graphics! The game is really hard, I can't even beat the normal mode... But I had a lot of fun! :D

Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:53pm

wow congrats you guys!!!

nyrrrr says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:25am

one of the best soundtracks this LD28. Nice gameplay (pretty tough tho)
would like to see a full version of this

d__adee says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:22am

A bit hard. Would like to see another version with multiplayer option though. ;) Regardless, I had fun playing it :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]