December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bounce

by BoppreH - 48 Hour Compo Entry

That was fun.

This game is about defending something with insufficient resources. Unfortunately I neglected everything non-code, so no sound ):

The levels are short, the story simple, but I hope you are able to have fun. Tested in the latest Firefox, Internet Explorer, Opera and Chrome. Opera and Chrome render terribly, so avoid it if possible.

This was my first Javascript project, and I made the grave mistake of writing everything from scratch, without jQuery. Loads of fun, but an awfully long time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#267Theme3.29
#276Innovation3.24
#297Fun3.18
#354Overall3.18
#534Mood2.70
#538Humor2.15
#588Graphics2.75
#817Audio1.00

Comments

voidqk says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:36am

cool game! I like the game mechanic. The first level was the most fun, because it felt like I had to actually AIM the ball. The last level was "easy", because I just kept the ball in the middle, and wiggled it around.

Perhaps, given more time, you could add more mechanics -- for example, less enemies (to promote aiming, vice wiggling), and maybe different types of enemies. For example, maybe an enemy that orbits around the center, shooting bullets in. You can block the bullets, but you need to hit the orbiting enemy to stop the bullets. That would require aiming.

Just thoughts, well done!

Please review mine, if you have the chance.

BoppreH says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:26am

Thanks voidqk, just played yours.

Reviewers, please mention if you notice any problems. If rendering looks funny, things move in unnatural ways, or performance is performance, for example. This is always useful to know for the next time.

braindx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:47am

I had fun! Best cursor ever, by the way. Super cool.

Eventually, I just started making it goes in tight circles around the planet. Couldn't really figure out any better strategy than that.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:55am

Another game that was deceptively challenging! I'd like to see some different enemy types, but still a great difficulty curve.
Bug: clicking new game after winning just displays the win message again.

BoppreH says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:01am

Thanks braindx and Jack, it's fixed now.

The source has support for a lot of variation in the levels, I just didn't around to create any missions that used it. If the ball is slow and the enemies are extra bouncy, for example, spinning in a tight circle won't help.

Well, maybe next time.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:05am

Nice game ! At first, it's easy, but as soon as they came from all sides ! Really good idea !

ghosrath says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:28pm

That was fun, the ball mechanics work really well. But the final level was maybe too easy, because you can just keep that ball in the middle. Maybe you could make the target move around a bit to add a layer of difficulty

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:00pm

I really liked the ball mechanic. To bad there wasn't any audio.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:01pm

This was fun, took me a while to learn how to make the most of the way the ball worked. Good effort, cool graphics.

scriptorum says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Oh man, I saved like, everything! The later levels weren't that hard, they'd be easier if the target was larger than the ball. Well done.

wbwelcomeback says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:35pm

I enjoyed playing this game. Just like voidqk said, it was most fun at the beginning and then it was just keeping the mouse in the middle. Still I quite like the simple/subtle arts.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:15pm

The difficulty really ramps up in the third level. In a good way but it was just a pretty hefty jump. Great Job.

garygreen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:21pm

The straightforward idea, but unique control system made this really fun to play. Nice work. It also looked good in Chrome.

WojWorks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:44pm

A very fun entry, but a little simple. It is well paced though.

Masadow says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Good game concept. A bit easy however and the first level is a bit too long. Well done !

chardish says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:34am

When you stare at the center of the screen for 60 seconds on the last level it creates a neat optical illusion when you look away. Fun!

Cipher says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:21am

Really nice game mechanic you got there!

Jeremias says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Interesting mechanic. Did you plan to avoid that the player camps near the base with a kind of rotation movement? Seems a bit too strong! :D
Like others said, add sound effects and music (if you like to work on a post-compo version)!

Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Really nice orbiting mechanic. Well done I included it in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/tnNlwxp-9J8

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]