December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Yogo and the almighty mat thieves

by kalth.streil - Jam Entry

You play as Yogo, a wizargineer who loves blowing stuff up!

Controls are as follows:
-W A S D to move (arrow keys work too, if that's what you're into). Also, Joystick, but pretty useless because...
-Mouse to aim, LMB to attack, RMB to teleport if you've got the magic wand.
-Focus on getting to the right side of the map. That's where the exit is! Detours are handsomely rewarded with extra hearts though!

Enjoy it! :)

First version; built for Mac OS / Windows / Linux (untested!)
Android may come soon!

PS: You've got the maps on screenshot 5, but that may be considered cheating!
PS2: If you've beaten the game and are curious about the other 3 endings, just read them here: http://pastebin.com/AZCNHMCY !
PS3: Just added a post-compo Web version! Main changes include tweaks to gameplay (more HP for ranged/melee, more speed for melee) and visuals (now slimes have different colours! yay!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#58Humor(Jam)3.48
#109Overall(Jam)3.50
#139Graphics(Jam)3.79
#142Audio(Jam)3.29
#148Fun(Jam)3.21
#180Mood(Jam)3.15
#243Theme(Jam)2.82
#253Innovation(Jam)2.89

Comments

kalth.streil says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Just spotted a critical bug! One of the monster types can't be killed and thus you can't end your gameplay. We'll kill that bug asap! Give us 10 mins to reupload the version!

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Me ha molado la fusión entre 3d y 2d, un buen resultado usando Unity, la estética es brutal. ¡¡felicidades!!

kalth.streil says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Thanks javi :)

Btw, all is fixed now! You can now play to your heart's content!

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Enjoyed it ! Thanks ;)

Patacorow says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Love this game! Controls felt a bit slow but otherwise than that I loved everything about the game - the design felt unique, the music was great, the story was great and the animations and effects were cool. I just wish Slimes had a cooler death animation. :p Well done!!

Korwegian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Feels kinda zelda-ish in a way.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Nice, I picked the wand and had a hard time timing the rock dropping onto the slimes, but it was fun!

stefan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:16pm

You obviously put a lot of effort into this game. Putting together 200MB in a weekend is impressive ;) Unfortunately, the weapons worked only few times for me when I hit the left mouse button. I didn't understand when I was able to use the weapons. Also, I think your mixture of 2d and 3d graphics is a little confusing. All the lights and room had a nice athmosphere, this is great. And also the music is wonderful, creating a song like this takes some time I guess. Its a nice game and an interesting take to the theme :)

kalth.streil says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Originally slimes had a nice rolling death animation, but I was messing with plane rotations and the scripter hated me, so I left only the colour part :(

Also, the wand is intended to be hard to aim, because it hits for double the arrows heh and you also get teleport, which is awesome for melee enemies XD

Thanks for the comments :)

By the way, nobody commented on the nerd references so far :( The infamous three-red-lights of the Xbox 360, the Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann / Kill La Kill enemies, the player death... XD

kalth.streil says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Hey stefan, what'd you mean you couldn't make the weapons work? They should work every time you hit the mouse, as long as the animation has finished (has a small cooldown to prevent spamming XD)

The 2D/3D idea was originally intended for a different setting, so I can see why some wouldn't really like it :)

Toureiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Very interesting how you mixed 3d and 2d elements!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Nice intro story for a game! I tested the staff but found fighting with it very dragging as it is hard to hit with it and it doesn't even kill things very fast.

Piat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:19pm

very nice effort, the style is nice and its great you got in as much content as you did.

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:24pm

I like the small details you can find everywhere! Apart from the mentioned memes, it's nice to read this secrets when you die :-) On the downside, I felt it was a bit repetitive to start again when you die...

kalth.streil says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Well for you people dying, I'm gonna drop some pro tips:
-Wrench: prepare the attack before closing up on the enemy. Most enemies should die of 1-2 hits. (Hard)
-Crossbow: keep moving all the time while raining bolts on the slimes. (Easy)
-Magic wand: keep moving but point to where the slimes would be in 3s. If you get melees in range, warp away. Try to keep yourself on the bottom of the area to be able to warp better. (Easy~Hard)

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:05am

Heh.. Pretty fun to play... greed consumed me. XD Would have loved to see what else would happen, but I was not going through all that again. XD

kalth.streil says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:10am

Greedy b*! XD

Thanks for playing :D

I'm gonna put the Yogo endings in the original post so the curious people won't die :)

So check them!: http://pastebin.com/AZCNHMCY

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Great game! a full story and everything! I enjoyed playing this! although it became a little repetitive.

bsowers says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Neat hack 'n slash game. Loved the introduction.

joekinley says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:43am

The controls felt a bit wonky, and it felt slower than it could have been.
I love the visuals. It is a stunning effect, and somehow reminded me of "Don't starve".
Also I liked the audio pretty much.

The intro tho.. was toooooo long. I know, it's not nice to try to skip that, as it surely is effort on your side, but nobody reads those things. Especially when it turns out to not be relevant for the actual game. So sorry about that.
Good job on the game tho. It was quite fun.

kalth.streil says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:32pm

It's ok, the intro was originally meant to be skippable, but that was cancelled due to a last minute bug :(

We know that not many care about stories, but we thought we'd still provide one for those who enjoy some context for their killing!

Definitely needs some QA on the speed of the attacks, but what's wonky about the controls themselves? I found the WASD + mouse a flawless combo!

Thanks for the review by the way :D

01rafael says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:25am

Oh! A lot of text in here. I like to play more than read text. Gameplay is an international speakless language )
But game is crazy! All this flat enemies are freak me out )
Good job!

TaleLore says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 8:55am

I liked the art style. The sprites should have been vertical, not laying on the ground though.

psc1997 says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 9:12am

I like graphics, fonts and art style. Wonderful! ;-)

Tex Killer says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 3:25am

Very well polished, despite a few bugs on the doors! I was hoping for a bonus stage with the witch, if I choose the "leave" instead of the cat, but it was a nice experience nonetheless!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]