December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Get One with Math

by Lukasinho - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Get One with Math
--------------------------

You only get one minute,
one life, one result
and the result is one.


by

Lukas Pfeiffer

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#99Innovation3.64
#409Theme3.05
#727Humor1.71
#754Overall2.69
#768Fun2.44
#848Mood2.19
#872Graphics2.11

Comments

ratboy2713 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:19am

The controls a super sensitive, but a very interesting idea. Reminds me of those old edu-games.

BoppreH says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:33am

Never saw anything like it. The controls are sensitive, but I think it is part of the challenge. Well chosen difficulty. Stretching the theme a bit.

Rahazan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Very unique, the controls make it very hard though, the momentum is huge!

gingerBill says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Sensitive controls but I understand that they are meant to be like that. Challenging when as you progress and when I realize I cannot do mental arithmetic!

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Nice idea, just a little bit too difficult. Rage quit in level 3 ;)

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:12pm

I like it. The controls definitely need tweaking though, I suspect the creator has an incredibly low mouse sensitivity. As I started the game I instantly died; After adjusting sensitivity to barely anything it was playable however!

And I learnt how shitty I am at math under pressure. But it worked just fine. Good game.

isaacmarco says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:06pm

me parece muy buena idea. Es muy bueno también como juego educativo

Sebastian says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Woah, I'm smashing into walls every second. Clumsy old me. Cool idea.

lucasncv says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:20am

Nice concept. I think I'd rather play this as a puzzle game, where you are given a bunch of number and operators and the goal is to, within a time limit, select some to get a result of 1. I see the appeal though.

ajfischer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:21am

I liked the concept a lot, but found it really hard due to how sensitive both the keyboard/mouse are. It would be cool to see other math operators such as parentheses and exponents! Or maybe there were and I wasn't able to get that far... hehe.

@Micle2000 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:28am

Really enjoyed the difficulty, good work!

SoundGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:55am

Cool idea. Edutainment is hard to do. the controls are super diffucult? Why ?

joekinley says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Gaah those controls are nasty. But the idea is nice. Although it's pretty tough from the third level on. I died more enough because of bumping into walls, but as i got the gist, i just couldn't figure out the solution to the numbers.
Not a numbers guy here. But it was fun while it lasted, and the idea is nice.
Would make a quite interesting android app i assume.

sadiquo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Control was a good idea to make the game more difficult and fun, but when we doing a error in the number no error message, we must wait the end of the timer :(

Lukasinho says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:59am

Thank you all for your comments and ratings.

to SoundGuy: I have a few sensitive mouse, but I wanted to have a difficult controls.

to sadiquo: You have more choices to get to the result.
The error message is not needed because if you make a mistake, can you hit the wall and restart the level or press ESC and restart. :)

to joekinley
Android version here:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/fpdn8x2bqetnn5w/GetOneWithMath.apk

tobbez says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:50am

Nice game, the keyboard control were really only usable for cetain tricks all since the maxspeed was so high. You should probably put a cap on the maxspeed. Nice puzzles and some time attacks is a solid start, try to find more ways to use the mechanic and this could be a really good game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]