December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

1 Shot

by benjih - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"You get one shot, become an archery hero."

GAME CONTROLS
Space - action
Arrows - control menu
Up key - raise arrow

Having never made a game, wanting to make a game and not having enough willpower to ever finish a game, Ludum Dare seemed like a good opportunity. This is my first entry and first game ever. I used Java 7 alongside LWJGL and Slick Utils.

DISCLAIMER
This game will only run with Java 7. I tried to put it into Java 6 but shit hit the fan.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#91Theme3.69
#491Overall3.00
#620Innovation2.73
#662Graphics2.60
#663Fun2.63
#1435Coolness32%

Comments

Microfrog says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:19am

Fun little game. It uses the theme well. My only complaint with it was when the arrow hit the bullseye, it didn't actually make contact with it.

bspa says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Congratulations on your first!

blink says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:46am

Congrats on your first game :)

I liked it, fun little game! Hope you enjoy devving in the future!

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:31am

Not bad. I managed to hit the bullseye on my first try, but wasn't able to do it again.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:07pm

I thought at first it'd be an aim then fire type of thing. I liked it though, great fun. Nice work!

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Nice little game.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:03pm

I really liked the graphics on this game for some reason. They were simple but really good. I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/0DcB_uEEmYE

loxo says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Nice first entry, I like the simple idea. A highscore list and more levels would be nice, maybe even with some obstacles.

birikkiuch says ...
Apr 9, 2017 @ 7:30am

Blog gave us useful information to work. You have done an amazing job. http://liuhey.com

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]