December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cmdr. Yogo

by rnlf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You came all the way from your homeworld to earth in order to kill the president of earth. But as you command your crew to bomb the head quarters, they tell you that they forgot to resupply the bombs.

So you get only one.

Luckily, there is a lot of explosive stuff in the area, so maybe ne bomb is really all you need, if you can start a chain reaction.

Note: If you don't get sound on Linux, check your OpenAL configuration (/etc/openal on Debian).

There is a post-compo version available now, which fixes the two most pressing problems.

Please don't hesitate to report any additional problems you find.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#20Fun3.90
#86Theme3.70
#93Humor3.45
#138Overall3.55
#242Innovation3.29
#285Audio2.92
#398Mood2.91
#564Graphics2.80

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:31pm

This is the best game I've seen so far, You did an amazing job. The game concept is very funny, and I loled on the dialogues between the commander and player.
Congrats.

Norgg says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Nice and well balanced! I played through a few levels, some of which seemed impossible at first but managed them after a few tries. It'd be nice to be able to skip the dialogue without having to open the menu though.

rnlf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Thanks for the feedback, guys, and then quite positive feedback :-)

@Norgg: there are actually a few levels that actually are impossible to solve (like a very flat terrain with only missiles which you can't reach with your bomb). And yeah, I figured that one with the "debriefing" out by now. Will change it in the next version and release it in three weeks.

lparker says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Very addictive, liked the randomness of the levels.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:05pm

hey rnlf, afaik, to run the linux build you can use "file /path/to/the/file.x86" but that build was generated by unity, and I don't have a linux installed to test it

You can try my game through the web link, though.
I hope you like.

chamberlainpi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Although the terrain is simply seeded by random values, in most cases it makes a fun level to play! Loved the rockets flying up and just spinning in the air. Great performance speed too, the particles emitted nicely.
My only suggestion is to make the dialogs skippable. We get the idea after the 1st / 2nd turn, after that though it seems to drag the game.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:21pm

This was really cute little game you got it was funny and fun to play.

jongtao says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:40pm

I really like the dialogue's humor. It's really fun and simple.

FrozenCow says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Fun game! I liked how the dialogs were capitalized, as if the aliens were shouting to eachother :P. Most levels were solvable, only some just seemed impossible. Had a good time.

Rothens says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:14pm

I guess it would be better as a chain reaction game, with more destroyable thing and smaller explosions. The idea is good tho. Kepp up the good work!

caranha says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Ha! Nice game, I liked it! I REALLY liked bouncing the ship against the edge of the screen.

"Sir, what about the president?"
*Bounce**Bounce**Bounce* Wheee!
"Sir?"

Some thoughts:
- If you win a stage and try a new one, your score should carry over - so you can see how big of a streak you can make
- If you made multiple random chats for the end of the level, this game's re-playability would go waaay up.

Thanks for the fun game!

*Bounce*

TomboFry says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:19pm

This is a brilliant game, I swear I spent half an hour just trying random seeds to kill the president :L
Random-ness like this is great for a game like this (even if there are uncompleteable levels)

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:20pm

That was hilarious, I loved the dialogue :D

rnlf says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Rothens: yeah, that's what I wanted in the beginning, but somehow I figured this version was more fun. One distant future release will probably be customizable.

caranha: Thanks for your input, I will definitely add those two things in the next release. Glad you liked the bouncing, that was one of the last things I added just for fun :D

Thanks to everyone who commented, it's a great feeling to get so much positive feedback on your first submission!

MrBlade says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Awesome game! This is so cool! Nice sounds, good graphics, funny story! Very humorous! The best LD game I have played this go round so far! Keep it up! I found that if you type the seed as 42, then directly fire, it wins. Hahaha.

rnlf says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:10pm

@MrBlade: 42 doesn't do this for me. Maybe the random number generator works differently on different JVM versions or something. :-(

mystakin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:12am

One of the best entries I've seen. Great dialog, cool idea, and fun gameplay. A greater variety of explosives in the levels could push this to the next level.

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:20am

This was funny! I liked the music, the game mechanics.. only that chat on the end of every level bothers me a little :-) Also tried seed 42... :-)

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:40am

It's like an explosion of pixels from space.
Funny backstory..

97%Awesome says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Awesome job, relly fits the theme. difficult but not impossible.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:53am

End-of-round dialogue got a bit monotonous, but otherwise a very unique and addictive game! Great work :)

Warzone says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Interesting game. I really like the concept.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Funny idea and good execution. The gameplay is very satisfying, even though you're just watching 90% of the time. You should possibly have considered using some kind of grass texture instead of that aggressive light green though.. :)

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Really great work! This was really compelling and I spent a lot longer (re)playing this than most other games I've reviewed so far! I can be a bit long winded getting from one level to the next, so after I'd seen the dialogue a couple of times I was just hitting escape to skip it and restarting from the menu - it'd be nice if you sped up that process a bit, oh and also allowed your score to roll over into the next level. Overall though great job!!

netmute says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:04pm

I loved it! The sound, graphics, gameplay, all fit perfectly. I only stopped playing because I want to try other games as well :D

I would have been nice if the win/lose text at the end of each level could be skipped. The text is funny, but not 10 times in a row ;)

frogcheese says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Really fun game! Some levels were easy, but others really needed precision. Fun dialogue between the commander and the ship as well. And the animations for the different explosives are awesome.

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Very nice gameplay! Is there an "end"? Good work.

rnlf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Nope, there's no end, just randomly generated levels. I might think of some kind of arcade mode with high score for the post-compo version I'm working on.

Freel4tte says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Love what you did with the theme. And I really like how the rockets behave and how you can influence their movement. I really had fun playing this game. Kudos to you!

Harsay says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Best game I have played so far! Very addictive! Loled at dialogues xD

Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:23am

Thanks man, I appreciate your effort in playing it.

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:09am

Wow, I really like this concept! The game is pretty difficult in some cases, but I like challenge. The music is nice, more variation in the dirt texture would have been great, but the destructible terrain is awesome. I had a lot of fun playing this! :D

LordHellMaX says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:55am

Very nice that the levels are random. Good chain reaction game!

_zulli says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:00am

I've loved the random level generator! But i think the dialogs get a little bit repetitive. But really good job!

If you have time, please consider rating my game! I would really appreciate it. :)

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:31am

I loved it! Very fun and a great use of the theme!

Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Nice game ! Catchy song, really cool gameplay, funny ! Great job !

Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:37am

I liked it, but (as others have mentioned) I'd love to have a reset button or something so I can skip dialogue :)

Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:38am

Aaaaand I just found it in the menu. Nevermind! Haha

van noctar says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:10am

Yeah! Game is very funny!

StMatn says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Awesome game!
The idea is great and well executed.
The game is fun to play and I like the particle efects!
It's quite hard to win, since it feels like it would be a matter of luck, once you dropped the bomb, but thats ok.
Great work, keep it on :)

patrickgh3 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 5:06am

Lots of fun! Hilarious premise and dialogue, I laughed pretty hard when I failed my first mission.

greytram says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Funny and addictive game!
Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]