December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

#YOGO Platform

by TuxIsBornToFrag - Jam Entry

##################################################################
ATTENTION:
If you cannot start the game (because you have no java installed, or the path variable not set), you have to options to fix this:

1. add Java to your PATH variable
2. replace javaw by (including the quotes) "%programfiles%\Java\jre7\bin\javaw" (given you have java installed).
##################################################################

#YOGO Platform is our first entry to Ludum Dare. We decided to enter in the Jam, because we wanted to pull this project of as a team.
Sadly we decided only one day before the event started to enter it and so we had no preparation. Also we had no experience with Slick 2D.

What worked:
- We actually "finished" a "game" in one weekend :D
- The graphics are not the worst we have ever seen

Where we failed:
- The first idea was dumped 15 hours in
- The idea that we used was not well elaborated
- We made no plan
- The code is total crap and patched-up like hell :)

For our first time in Ludum Dare we were pretty successful, since we finsihed a game and we are confident, that we do better next time. :)

Controls:
- left arrowkey : move left
- right arrowkey: move right
- space : activate platform

Description:
#YOGO Platform is about a platform(you) that tries to save the last robot out of a burning factory building,
that is constantly trying to jump in the fire below your platform.
To fullfill this quest you can activate your platform by pressing "SPACE". But watch your powerbar, so you do not run out of power.
Collect the falling yellow batterys to fill your powerbar and avoid the falling white batterys, that take power from your powerbar.

Programming Language: Java
Graphics Engine: Slick2D

Programmers:
Malte Heinzelmann
Phillip Schichtel
Jonas Dann

Artist:
Jonas Dann

Sounds:
Malte Heinzelmann

Cheat codes:
Type the cheatcode and the press "end" on your keyboard
- "phillip" : to turn off the collisions (insider joke)
- "jonas" : to make some of the fonts black (insider joke)
- "malte" : make the game a bit harder ;)
- "soundoff": to turn off the sound

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#303Humor(Jam)2.22
#399Fun(Jam)2.51
#401Theme(Jam)2.36
#422Audio(Jam)2.11
#424Innovation(Jam)2.39
#434Overall(Jam)2.67
#461Graphics(Jam)2.43
#482Mood(Jam)2.06

Comments

David Colson says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:12am

Could not run on Windows, it said "windows could not find javaw"

paulopn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:23am

worked fine here. Nice game, specially considering you had no prior experience =D I could quite figure out how to direct the player, though...
Also, nice pixel art.

0xDEADC0DE says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:43am

@David Hi, I'm one of the developers. The start script expects Java to be in your PATH environment variable.

You have to options to fix this:

1. add Java to your PATH variable
2. replace javaw by (including the quotes) "%programfiles%\Java\jre7\bin\javaw" (given you have java installed).

Fenixin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:20pm

It's a nice idea. I like the pixel art and the sounds.

But doesn't seems fair that you can't control the robot ( or I think I can't control it). You have to collect the bateries to keep playing, but you can't move the robot!

0xDEADC0DE says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:57pm

The robot doesn't collect the batteries, it just destroys them. To collect the batteries you have to catch them with the active platform.

Rothens says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:07pm

This is a quite nice entry :) It was fun to play :D

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Cool little game. I don't get how it relates to the theme though.

KeyMaster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Nice game, althoug I didn't get the whole energy-mechanic (and survived just fine without worrying about it :D)

Nichii says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Couldn't run the game... nothing happened. I had Java 7 installed. (Windows)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:42pm

@mortl8324 You only got one platform ;)

@Nichii if you installed only the jre not the jdk, you have to add java to you %Path% in Windows. Or change the execution path in the run.cmd.
On top of the description on this page the default jre path ist written.

Capitals says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Cool Idea, should be a runnable jar.

ludotrix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Not bad for a first game. Gets a bit easy and boring after you get used to the controls

fullmontis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Sounds are a little loud and I think batteries should be bigger and pop out from the background more. I thought they were a particle effect at first! But aside from that gameplay is entertaining even if a little too simple, gets quite repetitive fast.

tiffi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Nice little "platformer". Cool idea and a cool game. Had no troubles starting the game.
You missed the theme, but so did I.. ;)

Nice work!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:10pm

@Capitals We wanted to do so, but because of the native libs it didn't. Sadly :/

Nelien says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:27pm

No problems running it over here. Good first entry!

yapshuter63 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:29am

Cool!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:31am

Still cant run it :/

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:57am

very nice for the very first time!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:37am

Doesn't run on osx :/

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:10pm

The cheat codes are amusing, mostly because they aren't cheats at all :-) also, nice game.

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Well, it's a decent start... if polished, might actually work on mobile devices pretty nicely.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:35am

Good going.
A bit hard to see everything.
But my computer is from the dark ages too..

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:13am

There isn't a very strong sense of progression, and the audio could be improved upon, but otherwise an amusing concept.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]