December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get One Derpina

by tigerrenko - Jam Entry

You only get one Derpina in your life. I know, she's Derpina, but then again you are Derp, so you two belong toghether. You have to protect her, don't let her down! Some of her fears are real, some are imaginary, but you can't just sit around, you have to go out there and defend Derpina. As I said, you only get one...

...so guard her carefully.

ps. if you lose game quits if you win you get nice...um... nice screen, yeah. cheers!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#158Humor(Jam)2.85
#294Theme(Jam)2.68
#394Innovation(Jam)2.50
#429Audio(Jam)2.05
#434Fun(Jam)2.41
#478Mood(Jam)2.12
#488Overall(Jam)2.41
#537Graphics(Jam)1.73
#1259Coolness41%

Comments

30dogs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Fun little game. The "decoy" balls definitely made it more challenging (still a little too easy unfortunately). I thought I was being super clever by nudging derpina into a corner to more easily protect her...but if you let a ball slip past in that scenario it will ricochet and hit her several times! Might be more interesting if derpina had some random movement and you had to keep up with her.

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:37pm

feel glitches for me interesting idea. and a pretty okay execution

tigerrenko says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Thank you. Didn't want to make it too difficult and total failure on second day meant I couldn't make more levels :( Anyhow thanx for the comments, means much every feedback!

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:56pm

can't play, mac

goerp says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Haha I win!
It played well for me and it was easy, which for Ludum Dare is a good thing.
An orginal and funny game.

tigerrenko says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:38am

thanx :D

plaguespark says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:56pm

If the walls were closing in to make scene more non-static ... it would be awesome

glovecat says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Haha, I laught with this game. I love the way you managed game over...closing it :P. Easy and good idea for only 4 hours. bravo!

Moosefly says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:24pm

The collisions didn't always seem to work the way I wanted them to work, but I still managed to beat it.

Simple game but good job nonetheless!

tigerrenko says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 11:23am

@glovecat hahah that was... a feature... yea... I really... "managed" it thanx :D (it was a gruesome bug that I couldn't hunt of course)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]