December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mr.Rect

by Mindtricks - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I'm really sorry, I know that this game is full of bugs, this is my first Ludum Dare and I figured out I still need time to do something playable. I hope you will enjoy the idea



I used:
GIMP
SDL
Visual Studio Express
Anvil Studio

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#254Humor2.90
#347Theme3.15
#550Innovation2.83
#681Audio2.02
#737Fun2.51
#817Mood2.26
#831Overall2.57
#974Graphics1.62

Comments

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:25pm

I'm getting a 'this computer can't run this because zlib.dll is missing'. I'm running Windows 7.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:00pm

I'm also getting a zlib.dll missing error on Windows 8.1.

Mindtricks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:04pm

I modified the windows rar including the zlib dll missing

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Nice first game, well done. Keep at it and you'll be a pro!

(zlib fixed :))

TheMaster99 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Not bad for your first game, by any means! Good work!

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Great idea! Simple and really good for your first entry!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Nice attempt, I like the idea of picking your own movement options. Too bad that you didn't manage to make it more complete. I hope you learnt something from the experience and better luck next time.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Nice game for the first time, keep doing.

sadiquo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:31pm

If you want know I prefer you funny simple game than the usual other game we can see every time, greats ideas and great music :D

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Could've been longer, but had lots of fun at the idea! Very witty!

Mirroar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Good first effort, keep it up! You've got the beginnings of a decent game down, maybe next time you'll have more time to polish it.

Arkazon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:45pm

I like the overall concept of choosing a single skill to take into a level. As others have said, this has more innovative features than a lot of the games on here even if it is a bit rough around the edges!

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Loved the dialogs you included. Too much fun making Mr.Rect sad :-D

Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:47am

Trust me, that was really good for a first time. :)
One of the more innovative games I have played so far, plus it was pretty funny, well done. :)

lilinx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:58am

Very fine first game. It's simple, I like the font, I like the fact that you get to try different controls (mouse, click, keyboard, drag & drop). I tried all the different paths.

Azzar says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Great idea and a nearly flawless execution (covering unfinished parts with funny comments counts as finishing them in my book)

Custard Games says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Haha for such a simple game, I thought it was pretty interesting and funny.

Thingus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Fine execution, epsecially given that you did the whole thing in code, and an idea I'd like to see developed further. Great first try!

jsjwooowooo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Quite a funny little game, nice work getting something playable finished.

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:31pm

I played it twice through to get all options.

The only thing I'd say you could improve next time is.. make it so if they're already holding right and then jump, they will jump right, rather than having to press up and then press right.

Also on the teleport level it wasn't immediately obvious to me to use the mouse.

But other than that, cool first entry. Don't stop trying, keep going until you're awesome!

Jeremias says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:26pm

At first: congratulations for making your first game. The underlying concept (choosing one skill) is clever. Why not continue working on it in terms of a post-compo version?

ParaPup says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:08am

The idea was brilliant and it was a great game the concept was perfect.

Moosefly says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Interesting game for your first try. The controls could've been a lot more polished as others have said. The game could've also been longer and have more variety, but I understand that the time limit can be quite severe.

Maybe you should try with a "lighter" setup next time? SDL (+C++?) isn't the easiest option for Ludum Dare after all!

natpat says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:12pm

The idea was there! \The few levels you did have were humorous and worked well. And congrats, you finished something!

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Heh heh. I loved it. Pretty fun to play. Had to go through and do all the options. And it was very, very funny. :P

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Interesting game, I'm obliged to say this on every game that has linear physics, but my biggest issue with gameplay was the linear physics.

Crabman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:38pm

I don't know why I chose lose. I guess there's something wrong with me. :D

GreaseMonkey says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:41am

Very nice work for a first game, even though it's really short.

The music is quite "meh" but it wasn't particularly grating either. Perhaps I should write an autotracker for that kind of music.

Also, using 64-bit FreeBSD here, and the Windows version runs without issues. With a little bit of tinkering, I managed to get this to build natively and run without issues.

Three things you need to note in future (no, you won't be "marked down" for these, it just makes your game easier to port):
1. Please, if you use SDL 2.0, say SDL2. "SDL" on its own refers to SDL 1.2 in most peoples' minds, which then makes people like me
2. If you need to #include something in a subdirectory, use e.g. "SDL/SDL_image.h", NOT "SDL\SDL_image.h" - the latter ONLY works on Windows, while the former works absolutely everywhere and is the ONLY standard path separator.
3. As far as I'm concerned, this isn't valid C++:
SDL_RenderFillRect(ren,&rm.getRect());
Use this instead:
SDL_Rect r = rm.getRect();
SDL_RenderFillRect(ren,&r);

GreaseMonkey says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:42am

(elaboration on point #3: Drawer.cpp, line 69)

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:53am

Good job getting something done for your first entry! The idea is pretty interesting.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]