December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gem breaker 28

by rezil - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Wow, my very first Ludum Dare game is done! It's a simple puzzle game where you have to break gems in order to level up, you can purchase a bomb or some TNT to help you clear the playing area. You can only hold one of the explosive types and can upgrade them once you have one(up to level 4).

The game is written in Java and uses LibGDX and Bfxr. You can play it on any computer that has the Java Runtime Environment installed.

Hope you guys have as much fun playing it as I had making it. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#283Fun3.20
#410Overall3.12
#464Innovation2.96
#492Humor2.26
#544Graphics2.84
#638Audio2.18
#750Mood2.39
#907Theme2.04
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

sensenmann666 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:24am

Addictive Gameplay! My poor mouse though ;)

rezil says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:35am

Yeah, I would imagine a mobile screen would be a bit better suited for this type of game. And probably binding it to a keyboard key instead of the mouse. Will probably implement it in the future. :)

ShinSH says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:55am

This game is very addictive. I am a little bit upset that there is no puzzling mechanism with the colors (which are actually an indicator about the brick's HP) but I will play it again for sure.

PEBKAC says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:59pm

Haha, if I ever need to train for another Diablo game, I'll know where to look!

AaronGordon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Very addictive gameplay! I had a lot of fun playing this.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:27pm

This reminds me of the Peter Molyneux curiosity game, except for the fact i enjoyed your one :D Simple but bright and colourful, so I'm happy.

Ashtom says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Quite fun but that's a lot of clicking! The usage of explosive is satisfying :)

rezil says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Thanks for the feedback, yeah the biggest problem is that the game actually hurts you by playing it (well). I think I'd need to implement either binding the break key to a keyboard key or holding down the mouse button to break blocks as well as clicking on them.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Not bad! Sad that it involved so much clicking, though. I enjoyed finding blocks that were acting as linch-pins, taking them out, and then watching everything fall into place. I agree with comments above that the game would be better if we could hold down click to break (like in some other block breaking games I've played...), or if there was a key-binding.

euske says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:29pm

I wish holding a mouse button worked.

rezil says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:25am

Sorry about that! Is there any interest in this game? If there is, I can update it to support holding the mouse button and provide a separate download link with the updated version.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:42am

Lots of fun. Solid game!

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Nice game, good work! I'd like to see a menu screen - or at least for the game to be paused when it starts so you have a moment to take in the text. I also didn't make much use of the bombs at all (in fact I only used them on my second play through and even then it was just to test what they are / how they worked) - it would be nice to see the theme take a more central role. Great work overall - well done on finishing you first LD :)

jprogman says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:40am

Very nice concept, but the fun only last after so much hammering. One suggestion is to implement a combo system. Maybe destroying one colored block would destroy the other same-colored blocks that are touching that block? Or maybe add different sized blocks that take more hits to destroy them? You got something going there!

Myyyvothrr says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:28am

Good work, was more fun than I thought!

jomomomo says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Nice job -- too bad about my trackpad. :-)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]