December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The One Familiar

by ErikU - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi, welcome to my submission! This is my first Ludum Dare, I hope you enjoy.

The game is called The One Familiar. It's a physics based puzzle game about a ball, called "The One", and the player's connection with it. The One is your one tool, along with your brain, that will help you through the 7 levels.

Please let me know if you do beat it - playing it myself, I found it quite tough! If you get stuck, feel free to press 'M' and switch to another level.

I would love to hear any comments you have. This was a fun experiment to make, so it'd be neat if you had as much playing it.

Cheers,

Erik

erikuggeldahl@gmail.com
@ErikUggeldahl

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#315Overall3.24
#335Innovation3.14
#354Audio2.79
#368Mood2.94
#389Fun3.00
#451Graphics3.00
#506Theme2.85
#1259Coolness41%

Comments

Elforama says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:53am

Good job, and the black particle effect is really nice.

jillytot says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:19am

Pretty good build up.

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:22am

Made it to the "What Lurks" level before giving up - those spiders are nasty!

The boomerang ball is cool, would love to see a full game with the mechanic. For the key zones, I'd suggest disabling them permanently once the key touches them. Its easy for the key to bounce back out, so that many of the moments where I was experiencing accomplishment were followed with disappointment that it didn't stay.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:24am

It was a nice project you have made here.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:43am

Nice work. The jump seems to pause at the peak of its height, also...nice jump sound

Gazpachogames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Ey! Great job!... :) I believe i can fly with your game, hehehe

Thijsku says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:23pm

It's pretty difficulty, especially after the fifth stage. It's a fun game nevertheless! :)

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:24pm

The "What Lurks" level is pretty infuriating at times (in a good way I guess). It took me so much time to figure out I couldn't win because of that sneaky little hidden spider... Anyway, great job!

chamberlainpi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Probably one of the best entries I've played (and would play again after testing out the 1000s other ones lol). The push/pull mechanic with the ball is great. Good thing you have that 2nd push force too. It's neat how you can point in another direction and it'll just go there (so you can force it at an angle). Stopped at the "What Lurks" level for now, but I'll get back to it soon :).
Oh, not sure if it was a bug of FEATURE ;) but you can stick to walls, and when holding jump you can sometimes walk on the black "lava" and escape the spiders.

chamberlainpi says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:16am

ah HA! I've finished all levels :)
Last two levels I've finished the same way - I stuck to the wall, threw the ball with the double-push (throw it once, but push again to propel it twice as fast) and catch it to climb all the way to the top of the level, then just gently glide your way to the goal. I'm not sure what kind of bridge I was suppose to build (according to the level title) but eh! whatever works.

ErikU says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:23am

Ah, thanks for coming back and commenting! This is a pretty creative way of beating the levels. On 6, you're not too far off what I intended - with proper timing it's possible to do a double jump by pulling the ball underneath you, giving you the height to top the platform.

On level 7, the bridge is formed by knocking the key out of the zone it starts in. However, there's still another barrier impeding after that, which has at least a couple work arounds.

Anyway, thanks for playing my game as much as you did. Cheers!

Lacutis says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Nice puzzle game! I really liked how the ball had several uses. The spiders made it really difficult because they are faster than you and its hard to accurately throw the ball.
I liked it a lot though and quit at the bridge.

Dec 28, 2013 @ 7:17pm

cool game, make me remember portal, but too difficult, spiders are extremely fast, good job anyway.

thebrainfuse says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 7:30pm

good level design, but i wish the "crabs" would bounce back when hit with the ball, stay dead!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]