December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hammer Control

by pkenney - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Battle monsters in bite-sized rounds, throwing your bouncing hammer against six varieties of enemies in ever-more-dangerous combinations.

But be careful where you let your hammer land - you only get one, and you'll have to get it back before you can throw it again!


A NOTE ON CONTROLS: A few people reported trouble standing still while aiming. This is supported, though! Try holding the pointer closer to the man. There is a "dead zone" where he will still aim but not move. If you hold the pointer farther, he will move.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#162Theme3.51
#178Fun3.39
#238Overall3.34
#248Innovation3.28
#320Humor2.69
#446Graphics3.02
#531Audio2.43
#588Mood2.63

Comments

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:18am

snakes dead body still kills, other than that nice!

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:21am

Wow! So freaking good. I loved this game. I just yelled "double kill" and probably woke up my roommate. But seriously amazing tho. I would love a little "success!" sound effect to play when i beat a level. But other than that truly good work.

The controls were a little unintuitive at first, but I quickly learned to love them :)

ratboy2713 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:21am

Love the concept. Really wish I had the ability to stand still while throwing. Feel I walked into people I should have hit. Love the little enemies, adorable.

madlee says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:21am

Very fun. The hardest thing about it is that it if pretty difficult to stay in one spot (at least for me), so there were a bunch of times when i accidentally ran into enemies. That could just be a side effect of playing on a trackpad though. Cool game!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:21am

Hammer time ;) Cool game, great use of the theme ! I died a little too much throwing that hammer :P

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:22am

Really liked it. Simple idea, nicely executed. I couldn't make it past level 14 though, oh well. Nice work.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:24am

It took me a while to realize the levels were randomly generated. Its interesting to see procedurally generated content without permadeath. Very interesting

Elforama says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:27am

Had fun with your game. Although when I first won a few times I kept thinking I died since it went to the next level so abruptly.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:56am

Simple fun gameplay with cute ai and sprites this is something to be proud of.

burlapjack says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:40am

Simple, yet so fun! I made it to level 15!

jsspiegel says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:53am

Nice game, fun mechanic, and I loved the enemy variety!

postmodestie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Reminds me somehow of Gauntlet..

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:55am

Some interesting things here, keep at it!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:58am

Pretty good game. I didn't really care for the controls though. It was difficult to always be moving to wherever you wanted to aim. Great job though!

scottrick says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:40am

Got to level 19! Nice work!

acp_ld says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:40am

good entry, i didn't like the controls but thats not against the quality of the game, just think this kind of game would work better with keyboard controls and mouse to aim and shoot or twin stick

johnfn says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:45am

This is a really fun entry with a nice take on the theme. You know what it needs though? COMBO COUNTERS. My god, if this game had combo counters I would probably play it for the rest of my life. It's still good though :)

pkenney says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:15am

johnfn - Yes! Combo counters with a little popup at the bottom saying "Bank Shot!" and "Triple Kill!!" were the next thing I was implementing if I had time... I really regretted cutting that feature. That and a boss fight of some kind.

To everyone saying they couldn't stand still and aim:

Standing still while aiming is absolutely essential, and it is supported. No wonder you are frustrated, that sucks if it didn't work for you.

When you are not sprinting, there is a "dead zone" around the man where the mouse will make him aim but not make him move. Try holding the pointer closer to him... this dead zone is about 1.5x his shoulder span. I apologize that this didn't simply work out without you even thinking about it, that's on me.

Perhaps people are playing with the mouse further away from the man than I expected. I'm afraid that's not optimal, given how I coded it.

Note that while sprinting this dead zone contracts greatly, but still should allow aiming without moving.

I could be wrong, but I suspect those of you who were keeping the mouse pointer quite far from the man may not realize how nimble he can be. Escaping death by stepping into a tiny safe space based on a lightning-fast decision is the only way to survive the later levels.

This game gets pretty ridiculous by the time you get to level 30!

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Yup, combo counters would turn this fun game into an amazing game! Great work!

acp_ld says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:55pm

maybe draw a circle showing the radius of the dead zone

Nazariglez says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Nice Game! reminds me Thor! xD, good physics and audio effects.

occash says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Good game)but I was very cinfused because of the sudden movement of the mouse

Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:09pm

I like it, fun, fun, fun :)

ninjacharlie says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Nice mechanics. It was kinda hard to tell whether you died, or whether you won a screen, because there was no message telling you whether you won or not. Also, it would have been nice to see the hammer bounce around more than it did. Other than that, nice job :)

Keith Evans says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:51pm

cool game. really good use of the theme. Liked that the controls were simple but felt that they were a little unresponsive at times which got me killed. Fun getting ricochet kills! Great job!

Kyle Mac says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:13am

This is actually really good. At least it's not totally broken like some of the other games I've played.

30dogs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:24am

Really fun and the graphics are slick. It's a lot like my game, except... well-designed :)

Great work.

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:37am

This is awesome! I would prefer WASD + Mouse, but it's fun even with a little bit of wonk in the controls. Could definitely see this getting expanded out into a big game.

Beavl says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:12am

I liked this one. “Thor” mechanics are cool and despite controls sometimes being really annoying I played this game a lot. Congrats, Hammer Control is fun!

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:38am

I really loved the throwing hamer mechanic of this game. But try to put in a imple fade to black transition between the levels. It gives a more smoother feel to the game

recursor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:18pm

haha very cool. This is a neat little game that would translate well to mobile.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Lovely little game - great use of basic art assets! Controls are a little awkward, but it's a great feat to fit so much on a basic mouse! Loved the creature designs and the variety of movement/attacks. Great work!

Several says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:51am

Definitely one of the most fun entries I've played so far. The random generation keeps things varied even if you keep dying, and sometimes makes it easier to reach the next level. And the fact that the level doesn't go down is also pretty great--you can keep playing at a level of difficulty that's actually challenging, rather than slogging through the easy stuff again. Great job, too, on the variation in enemy movement/behavior patterns (like the snake & spider).

You should really consider continuing development on this.

Some possible improvements:

- Use Screen.lockCursor (look it up in the Unity documentation, if you haven't already, as there's some extra details for doing it right in the webplayer or windowed modes). I suppose you'd have to make your own cursor to replace the system one, and then make sure you take the dead zone into account, but it's better than accidentally clicking out of the window or closing it.

- Consider adding the ability to hold shift (or any large-ish button, really) to stay still, as it's pretty easy to mouse too far and move when you just want to turn around or aim quickly.

- Provide more audio feedback for winning or dying--something still very short, but recognizable. Maybe just a coin-collection-style 'pling' sound on success would cover it.

- Perhaps provide some reason for starting the next round without hammer in hand. (Maybe the ground is falling out from under the character, and he's landing on a new level each time. Maybe time is passing--colors could change each round, perhaps with varying day/night/season details. Or there could be different locations, I guess.)

- Adding even more enemy types would be nice.

- Having non-enemy, non-wall things to hit could also be fun. Maybe something that creates a briefly fatal area (e.g. explodes) & flings your hammer back. Maybe smashable obstacles that only ghosts can pass through (until they're smashed, anyway).

Heh. I could probably keep going on. There's a lot of ways this could expand. The rapid succession of bite-sized battles in a small space with bouncing is a great kernel to build on.

Maple says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:08am

Nice foundation and graphics. You have a pretty solid game here, though I will say that the enemies became repetitive after a while. Also, while aiming the cursor close to the character in the dead-zone works, I personally think it would have been better if you eliminated the dead-zone and made it so that stand stand still unless holding right-click.

gnargle says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:23pm

This is cool - , really like how the hammer bounces off walls.

Thijsku says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:54pm

This is a really fun game to play! I love that the hammer bounces off the wall, because you can make multiple kills at once that way. :) The graphics are really simplistic and I like it a lot!

The controls feels a bit clunky in the beginning, but the player gets used to it. However, I would love the ability to stand still.

And last but not least, I miss a little juiciness. By example, you can shake the screen when you're hitting someone, or you can add (exaggerated) particles to the screen. This will hugely improve the experience of playing the game! I'd recommend you to watch this video, which talks a bit about juiciness in a game: http://goo.gl/N7RfKV

Diptoman says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:34am

Simple and enjoyable, nicely done. Had some problems retrieving the hammer from a dead snake's body, it could kill. The random generation of enemies was a nice feature, and there were many different types of enemies, so that's a good point.

somepx says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:03am

Controls are hard to master, an original entry - I liked this!

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:46pm

It needed to be less hard .. and also to know how much level it there. Other than that it is a cool game.

anvoz says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Really fun to play. I love your pixel monsters.

I got to level 21 and stopped because my hand was quite tired. The game speed was too fast so I just threw the hammer randomly. Also having to run around and throw hammer just with mouse was quite hard. Maybe it would be better if you allowed to control the movement by keyboard.

FrederickK says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 5:43am

Hey! We both really had similar ideas!
I loved the presentation, the guy moving at the start screen already teaches you how to play the game, also, kudos for that, simple and easy to understand, I liked a lot that.
Good job!

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Controls took some getting used to but this is a pretty awesome little game once I got the hang of it. :) Nice work for 48 hours. :D

GaTechGrad says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:25am

Nice little game. The hammer throwing mechanic works well. I liked the snake movements as well.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]