December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Seed of One

by Artguy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Grow a network of nodes to capture objectives randomly placed around the level.

You'll have to manage your resources carefully - the strength of the node's link depends on it's value, and the values of all nodes always add up to 1. Use terrain to anchor weak nodes, and use strong nodes to bridge large gaps.

Click and drag a node to create a new one. You can drag a new node towards the terrain to anchor it, or to another node to connect and transfer value to it. You win once you connect a node to every blue node on the map.

Right click + drag to move the camera.
Hit escape to go back to the main menu.
Hit space to change the color scheme.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#106Graphics3.87
#124Innovation3.57
#205Mood3.26
#233Overall3.35
#336Theme3.17
#370Fun3.04
#432Audio2.65
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:52am

Ohh! I tried to make a similar game once, with a network of energy like that... but I never went much further! :) Nice idea! :D

jillytot says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:07am

Very nice feel yo.

mungoman1 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:14am

Pretty interest idea you have there! I ran across a bug where the nodes would make some sort of infinite loop and grow to be giant bug-nodes with values of 25+! Other than that, it was an enjoyable game :D

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:16am

Looks really nice, but I fail with every construction.. xD
No easy game, well done..!

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:33am

Really cool concept and neat implementation!

Darkcoder says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:45am

Cool game. Though mouse sensitivity for panning is too low, and transferring strength to the front of your structure is a bit tedious.

TheSheep says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:25am

I wish people wouldn't mark Unity Web Player as "web", because it only works on Winodows :(

Alismuffin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:29am

Great job! Really good use of the theme.

Artguy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:04am

@TheSheep Sorry about that, added Mac and Linux versions now. I can't test them, so please let me know if something doesn't work.

GravityScore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Really nice idea! Love the luminescent graphics too!

PapaGrimbles says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Awesome concept, nice work.

mutuware says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Interesting idea.

marccspro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:08pm

The is very well made !

nerial says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Nice game with a World of goo taste in it. Difficult to understand the number maybe, you should try to rely on smtg else (as you don't want to talk about numbers but really about how to optimize a common ressource)

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 6:47pm

very nice graphics and gravity animation :)well done!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Pretty difficult but really nice concept.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]