December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mead Greed

by fleabit - Jam Entry

You are a monk and your weapon is MEAD! Fend off the thirsty peasants before they bring you to a stop. If your cart gets too heavy run over a pothole to toss the free riders off. Get to it!

Controls:
W,A,S,D Movement, Spacebar to throw MEAD!

* Note *
Web game is a bit buggy, please play windows version for a better experience :)

Mac and Linux users can play using the .love version this requires Love2d (download at love2d.org)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#139Humor(Jam)2.95
#196Graphics(Jam)3.46
#291Mood(Jam)2.84
#330Innovation(Jam)2.68
#394Overall(Jam)2.79
#417Fun(Jam)2.46
#516Theme(Jam)1.90
#1041Coolness47%

Comments

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:26am

Nice art! I was very unsure of the objective when I started...

Lissar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:31am

Great concept. I thought the walking animation could have been a little speedier though.

Rscar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:32am

Loved the visuals!

ambi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:45am

I certainly like the idea of infinite beer.

vrld says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:22am

Nice graphics and a fun idea. Too many peasants though ;)

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:52pm

cool Idea. Nice pixel artwork... After the first wave there were no more enemy... Throwing alcohol at people is funny :D

jomomomo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:14pm

MMMmmmm Beer....

j_stirk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:53pm

A lot of fun to play, and the art is great. Very hard to spot potholes in the meadzombiecrush though.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:16am

Arts pretty good. I had a hard time hitting people sometimes though. I also got stuck when I tried to go to level 4.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:20am

BEER!!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Great concept, I like the sprites. I managed to get the weight bar to go negative? D:

Tex Killer says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 4:13am

Interesting concept, very innovative, with some bugs... You could toss peasants below 0! lol

But it kind of gets repetitive and boring as it goes.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]