December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

RoboKnight Must Choose

by Mutt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:
Left and Right to Move.
Z, Shift, or Space to Jump
X, Ctrl, or Alt to Fire.

You can only save one maiden. The others die.
You can only pickup one powerup, the others vanish.

Created using C++ and SFML. Artwork created with Paint.net and graphicsgale. Sound made with bfxr.
-------------------------------------------------------
Wow! Finished at the last minute! Would have liked to do a lot more polishing but, still damn, I'm really happy with the results, especially for my first LD entry.

Doesn't have a whole lot to do with the theme, I tried to incorporate it in a couple different ways. Ended up being two ways -- you can only save one "maiden", and the others explode(they have bombs strapped to them); and you can only pick up one powerup.

Anyways, enjoy! Too bad I couldn't make more levels..

UPDATES:
In zip format now, (not that .7z nonsense) with a readme. And source. Thank god for that extra submission hour! And I'll probably create a "plus" version of this game eventually, with a title screen and more levels, and some tweaks and polish. But here's the entry for now.
***
Fixed a bug. Yay.
***
Updated to fix a memory leak, whoops. While I was at it I fixed the bug where the orange blocks weren't flagged as solid, that was confusing a lot of people. Now you can take that alternative path on the last level as intended. Should be within the rules for fixing minor errors after the deadline.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#149Humor3.23
#205Overall3.39
#214Fun3.32
#236Graphics3.48
#313Theme3.20
#396Audio2.72
#511Mood2.73
#643Innovation2.68

Comments

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Nice game, very challenging too.

Also the animation of death it's preety impressive.

Tyro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:08am

Solid gameplay and nice concept. Randomly generated levels would make it extra awesome. I like how you can basically self impose a challenge by choosing which maiden to rescue. Good work!

sudorossy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:12am

Pretty gory, challenging! Why couldn't I jump on the orange blocks? Got stuck on a bit due to that.

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:14am

cool entry! Took me a while to realise the levels were repeating themselves because the powerups are random.

Flux says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:19am

Felt like an oldschool DOS game, nice. :)

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:11am

A game where it is funny to see a death animation. I'm to slow for this game today... I have to sleep for a while... Good work. Artwork is retro pixel... I love that kind of graphics

Skulls says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:53am

I liked the polish on this game, the graphics, animations, and sounds were all top quality. The gameplay was solid although on one level I had to keep killing myself until the right powerup appeared. Overall a high quality game good job.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:58am

This is a game that you can win by dying over and over until you get the right powerup. However, while playing I sometimes found some weird, easy ways to grab a lipsticked zombie dynamite girl (or whatever the "level ending" character is).

pkenney says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:17am

Nice job for your first LD! I think you taught my GF platforming, she was much better the second time level 1 came around. ;)

Some of those maidens never had a chance because a key didn't spawn. And those orange blocks really misled me. Was there a powerup that made them solid for me?

Congrats on completing a full game!

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:40am

I always saved the prettiest maiden, and we loved each other for ever. :) fun game, thanks!

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:43am

I do enjoy me a good puzzle platformer. Really solid stuff and interesting graphics.

derdragon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:47am

Really dug the DOS-era graphics.... sound effects fit with that as well. Would be more interesting if there was some consequence based on whoever you ended up rescuing.

kbake says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:15am

Got pretty tricky! Nicely done!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:17am

The movement is good and smooth, The art is awesome feels like the good 'ol games :D, the concept is interesting but i think is kind of easy to play but is fun n_n great work!

Jejeboy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:22am

lol, the death animations were over the top. I grew up with games similar to this.

Maple says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:37am

Props for jumping on LD. This is a great first entry!
Right off the bat, I'm not the biggest fan of your physics tweaking -- it felt too slippery for me, though I will say that I like the jump-higher-when-running-faster rule. I liked that you had a wide variety of power-ups (I'm assuming this is your implementation of the theme). Graphics kinda reminded me vaguely of Ikachan for some reason. It was engaging enough that I played it through all your levels and a half, so there's that, too.
All in all I found myself rating this 4/5. I hope you make your way back to LD next time -- Good job!

haveric says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:57am

Fun game, but an intro screen explaining what was going on and what the powerups did would have been useful.

acp_ld says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:52am

entry is good looking, not rating because I couldn't play in my VM, the screen was tiny and didnt scroll so I couldn't see the rest of the level

_zulli says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:13am

Nice game! Pretty different idea on choosing only one girl to save. Nice job!

If you have time, please consider rating my game! I would really appreciate that! :)

Daveloper says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Nice platformer, only remark I have was that the difficulty curve ramped up to fast.

tobbez says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 3:15am

Would have liked if the maiden you already saved were removed on following playthrough eventually leading to an end when all of them have been saved. Like the graphics and didn't notice any bugs. Most mechanics could have been used a lot more so plenty of room to expand. The use of the theme as the game is didn't affect gameplay much.

multikorv says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Nice gore! :D I like it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]