December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Wedding Rush

by olafsworld98 - Jam Entry

Game made in flash in 72 hours.
Your engagement party is in 1 week, but the party location is 10 days away. 3 hours = 1 day. Rush to make it in time for the party. Or face the consequences.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#254Humor(Jam)2.40
#471Audio(Jam)1.44
#479Theme(Jam)2.10
#488Mood(Jam)2.04
#492Fun(Jam)2.08
#504Innovation(Jam)2.09
#520Graphics(Jam)1.91
#533Overall(Jam)2.12

Comments

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:24am

woo hoo i am not sure if it has any glitches?

Cherno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:58am

Dude I didn't even get to see the marriage!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:04am

Once inside nothing happen but nice work for 48 hours.

scoopsy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Took me a loooong time to get past the first level, didn't know I needed the map. =) Love the hand drawn graphics, he's so happy when he jumps!

zorfmorf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:32pm

I had several graphic glitches when running this game under a linux/chromium combination where it looked like the background wasn't drawn fully sometimes. Took me a while to get the car running. Oh and a "you win" screen would be nice!

Vi-King Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:10pm

The animations were very smooth, but the controls were a bit odd. You could have just made one button for all interactions (in and out of vehicle) and the transition from WASD to arrow keys on level 2 is a bit odd.
Also, if you play again after winning, map is still equal to 1 and the timer-thingy is where it was when you finished.

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Haha that's great for your first LD! Keep up the good work! Thanks for using my characters. It'd be nice if you credited me for them, but it's not a big deal xD
Good job!

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:02am

no play the game now that was the alpha now the beta is out its better

Moosefly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Worked fine for me and the animations were nice as others have mentioned. Good job finishing your first Ludum Dare game!

Devon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:09am

That is one hard wedding to get to. Love the joyous jumping. A bit confusing at times. Especially switching from top down to side view. But if Earthbound can do it why not.

Poxymyr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:16pm

I liked the idea, but the game need some original gameplay (and more levels too). Graphics are not catchy enough for me :(

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:58pm

I published a walk-through on my channel on YouTube if you want to check it out. Link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-8GG7DG0Lds or http://www.youtube.com/user/Olaf0World

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Played again! Still a really cute game :)
<3!

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:50am

Hmmmm the overall idea was pretty neat! Tough the graphics made it to hard to figure it out what to do sometimes. In level two some boundary walls to avoid you from getting lost in the void would be a great help for the player. Just adding in-game instruction, polish your levels a bit more and slightly better graphics would make it perfect. Good job for being your first LD :)

udo says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:51am

That was fun, I enjoyed the minimal graphics. Very cute :)

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:12am

@Zanzlanz i got the idea from your game of course everyone the credits goes to Zanzlanz for the characters, and the love-love idea.

kibertoad says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:55am

hahahaha, cool art.

_zulli says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:05am

Cool game! It needs some improvements but good job for 48 hours. :DDD

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:19am

Poxymyr i did not get time to make more levels, i was actually planning a lot more, but the reason why i made each day 3 hours because it was a short, easy thing to complete. Longer ludum dare timing = more levels = more time until a day is up. I did not get more time, because i started the Saturday night, so i got like 25 hours. XD but i am still pleased with my work.

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:19am

_zulli i try not to make people disappointed with my work

tobbez says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:50am

No real difficulty anywhere, would have been nice with some kind of puzzle or jump challange. Changing controls when entering the car felt really odd.

y2bd says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:17am

I liked how the levels tried incorporating different game mechanics.

jarnik says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:26am

Oh noes, I've fallen to the bottom of the world and had to spend the rest of my days there.... :/
Then I restarted, found the map, got to the car, drove to her house and GOT MARRIED!!!
Loved the walk animation! :D

ViliX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:30am

I don't know why, but I like the child's graphics :)

van noctar says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:23pm

It's cool to swap a platform view to top view :D

f7f5 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Congratulations on finishing your first LD in 24hrs!
On the downside, it appears to have some glitches (like falling endlessly on level one) and the art style didn't appeal to me.

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:55pm

1. You do not fall endlessly. Something is wrong with your computer.
2. In car and out, the controls are still W-A-S-D. Something is wrong with your computer.
3. In level 2 there were boundary walls to keep you from getting lost in the void. Something is wrong with your computer.
4. Just make sure not to die or your brother gets the girl
5. Thank you Zanzlanz!!! XD
6. I'm just trying to make it to ten.
7. Only three more lines until ten.
8. I cannot believe you're still reading this.
9. You're still reading, correct?
10. Congratulations, if you've reached this far, here is a tip. After you've played the game, restart and fall off the world.
11. Oh yeah, one more thing. I am thirteen years so I passed ten and....
12. Tanks guys for rating and commenting, I am playing as much of your games as I can, and hopefully we would be seeing each other on the last day of voting.
13. YOUR GAMES ARE EPIC, AND YOU GUYS (AND/OR) GIRLS ARE AWESOME!!!!! XD Since I'm turning 14....
14. See you again after this in April.. XD

postmodestie says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Congrats on finishing a game! ;)

Xavier says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:53am

Comic sans? :O I'm speechless :)

glovecat says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:54am

Nice small game. She marries with me :D. Congrats for your entry!

saulopz says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 5:18pm

not so easy to control... But ok. :)

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 3:23pm

A little bit glithy, but still fun

somepx says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 7:38pm

"She married you" - Now THAT'S A GOOD ENDING :D

ZYXer says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Cute story and graphics. The jumping sprite is funny. I like that you combined a platformer, a vehicle sequence and top-down view. Well done!

AlexFili says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:59am

A bit too overly simple really. Decent concept and could work better with more practice and better graphics.

ENDESGA says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 5:58am

Interesting game :) Very nice

d__adee says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:35pm

haha! Nice one! xD Got to see the marriage :D

jfroco says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:17am

it's like GTA with handrawings.. nice short game.

I don't know if it this is a happy ending ;)

GaTechGrad says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:22am

Nice little game, but I got lost in the overhead view part and didn't make it to the party

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]