December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get One Nap

by Gtoknu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a sleepyhead that is trying to wakeup, those pillows, warm milk and sheeps want you to sleep more! Try to get all the clocks and beat the 10 levels :)

[Keys]
You can use the arrows to move, for convenience, ZXCVAQ and SPACE also jump.

[NOTE]
If you want to reset your progress, press R at the main menu. BEWARE you'll have to begin from the first level again.

[NOTE2]
You can resize the window as you like, the game is prepared to pratically any resolution that has sense.

[NOTE3]
The game was ported to Android today 20/12/2013. When on Android, a touchscreen controller will appear :) (no changes were made to the other builds)

A T T E N T I O N, TIPS:

As a lot of you said it is too hard to beat, here are some tips:
1st - go fast, really, dont wait for enemies to spawn
2nd - cups of warm milk follow you but they're not so clever. you can trick them, and jumping on their head is easy
3rd - never let they corral you
4th - sheeps are fast as hell, they also jump much higher than you, killing them is not that hard, but if there are more than one sheep behind you, most of the time fleeing is the best option ( just let them jump over you :D )
5th - pillows are jerks, as stated by a commenter :P they wait for you when you're near, and if you're near enough, they'll jump to catch you. The strategy is: get close, wait for the jump, fastly go backwards and jump on their head!

I hope you guys manage to beat it now (i beat all levels already, i swear xD)


Tools used:
Programming: Java, Eclipse, LibGDX, Box2D
Audio: SFXR for samples, chirp for music loop
Graphics: GraphicsGale for pixel art, Photoshop for making the intro and fixing sprites
Design: Tiled for making levels.
Source code repository: http://bit.ly/19rqT5O

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#276Audio2.94
#346Graphics3.22
#452Overall3.06
#464Mood2.81
#482Humor2.27
#577Fun2.75
#837Innovation2.31
#853Theme2.19

Comments

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:02am

What a great game! Surprisingly difficult. Also it works on a mac osx 10.8.5. The music and sound effects were great. My favorite part was the screen shaking when you got hit / died, it really made it come alive. If there is anything you could improve on it'd be the level design and maybe the jump mechanics. A neat trick I like to follow is just to have 2 ways to get from A to B. It makes the game a little more dynamic and fun :)

MatrixBai says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:05am

Works on my mac. Nice game.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:43am

Really cute game. Love the level design and concept. The platforming mechanics could use some work, but this is impressive in the amount of time that you had.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:46am

Cool concept, nice graphics, and pretty fun. Hard, though. This guy must be REALLY tired.

Marcellus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:20pm

good graphics and menu, very hard game

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Good use of audio and fun to play; this is definitely a game I could see being progressed further. :)

Jan Marcano says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:17pm

This was really hard! Couldn't manage to beat all the levels. I hate the pillows, their jumping timing is too good and gets on my nerves xD

I really liked the enemy variety and the fact that it seems like a speed-runnable game.

Great work!

PD: Regarding my game, I know there's some impossible to avoid monsters. I wanted to add more attack patterns, but ran out of time sadly. Hopefully I can fix that on the post compo version. Glad to know it made you think every round :D

PD2: The twitter link on your LD profile is broken.

kbake says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Nice! I liked the graphics and how the enemies would spawn, it looked really cool. The sound effects were nice too, though the music felt a bit repetitive after a little while. Those pillows are jerks! :P

Gtoknu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:35am

I added some tips on how to beat the game in the description :D

BluShine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:43am

Cute art, but very hard. Music was fine, but starts to get annoying after a lot of restarting. I couldn't make it past the level where you have to bounce on a bunch of pillow guys in a staircase. The pillows kept doing weird super-jumps and then standing in mid-air.

Nichii says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:37pm

The game is surprisingly fun. However, the jumps are sluggish :(

Madball says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:02pm

It's so difficult it's boring... what is the end of this? I think I passed a plenty of levels, it gets harder and harder, and, well, will I even complete it?
At least, that's what I thought. Tips? I can't make tips pass the game, you know).

It makes a neat feeling. Nice graphics, nice music. Grrrr...
Sheep? Pillows? Well... Thematic. Coffee?... Oh, that's actually milk. I thought it's coffee.

Aside from difficulty, physics also sometimes spoils the gameplay. When pillows are stacked, the top one might skyrocket. And it might kill you even if you are above. Well, once I got killed by a sheep by jumping on top of it.
The character lacks mobility. Especially when I have to dodge sheep. Well, changing that will require you to redesign levels, but jumping already makes me fall asleep.

Gtoknu says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:30pm

@Madball come on, don't be a dick. 48 hours (around 30, if you discount resting time) isn't enough to make a perfect game.
Yes, the objective is to be a hard game, I wanted to challenge the players. It actually isn't endless, has just 10 levels (and i just thought i should have done more)
The physics bugs? Yeah, Box2D isn't surely totally stable, and i didn't have the time to fix it.

rezzish says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:35pm

It feels pretty polished. I like the enemy design, and your levels show off their different behavior pretty well.

Several says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Hah. The screen-shake, time-pressure, brutal difficulty, tendency to get knocked around after sleep, and enemies pouring in through black cracks in the background is really at odds with the pastel colors, soft music, and fluffy sleep theme. I suspect some strange relative has spiked the kid's milk.

I kinda wish the levels were a little less linear & difficult--it seems like there's only one correct way to play a level, which I don't find very fun. I also wish that fewer cracks had a target enemy level higher than the number of enemies to start. It also feels like the hit-boxes may be a little large.

Kudos on making a complete and evilly hard micro-platformer with mostly cute art, music, and persistent state in 48 hours.

Husky says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:28am

A pretty hard game !

Yaru says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:45am

Kind of difficult but very fun!
Also, it's the first time I appear in the credits of something, thank you very much! :D

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Good work :) I didn't mind the difficulty, except that I would really like to be able to jump higher - I like to feel that I'm more 'heroic' than a pillow when I play a game!!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]