December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Experimental Exodus

by LexGarza - Jam Entry

Remember to play it on 1366x768

You move with WASD and attack with the arrows.

The game was planned for 3 levels but only 2 are implemented.

NOTE: There is no ending D:, we couldn't finish that part, so after the second boss battle, you'll be stuck in the game T.T

Thanks for playing Experimental Exodus :D


In this Game, Experimental Exodus, you only get one, one disease. Try to defeat the hordes of enemies while dealing with one of several Diseases:

- OCD, you have to defeat all enemies on the level to proceed.

- AH1N1, you will suddenly stop all actions you can take.

- Allergy, each minute you spend on a room with enemies damages you.

- Picky Eater, not all hearts restore health.

- Schitzofrenia, some times you see dead enemies T.T

- Movement Failure, you suddenly move slower, suddenly faster.

- Panic Attack, you start running in random directions, unless you keep moving.

Attack enemies with one of four weapons (chosen at random due to poor time allocation during programming):

- Chainsaw, strongest weapon in the game, but you cant move while using it. Also, it has no attack animation, but you still hit enemies in front of you. To attack just keep the attack direction pressed.

- Machete fast melee weapon, deals less damage than the Chainsaw.

- Fishvolver, fast and precise ranged weapon, deals less damage than the Machete.

-Catling gun, extremely fast ranged weapon. Shoots two bullets at the same time but has poor accuracy and is the weakest weapon in the game.

You also have one special quality in the form of one bionic limb(not implemented, merely astethic changes):

- Helmet
- Arm
- Legs

Fixes:
- Attack animations are correctly displayed, now you actually see what attack you are doing and not just always see the catling gun animation.
- Put arrows in the first room to indicate the doors (Heavy complaints about not knowing the black cubes on the borders where doors)
- A text in the upper part tells you what disease you have (this was intended through an status icon but couldn't add it in time, we have the sprites though XD)
- After some work, bugs from the selection screen where corrected, now you can select wich attribute you want :D


Authentic Illusions & ArborSheep

Alejandro "Lex" Garza - Programmer
Ana "Anita" Gomez de Garza - Level designer
Aurelio "The Audio" Cardenas - Art & animations
Francisco "Chaos x" De la Garza - OST & SFX
Jorge "Yoxter" Hernandez - Menus
Ramiro "Rider" Nava - Programmer
Ricardo "Menetar" Parra - Programmer

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#325Humor(Jam)2.13
#386Audio(Jam)2.37
#419Theme(Jam)2.31
#454Graphics(Jam)2.47
#479Mood(Jam)2.10
#491Overall(Jam)2.40
#501Fun(Jam)2.02
#534Innovation(Jam)1.85

Comments

Strangelander says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Similar to The Binding of Issac. However, kinda clunky and not very good looking.

Scifer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:38pm

The concept is okay, but the nice fast-paced action I think you guys were going for doesn't come across. Maybe could have used another artist on the team...

jsjwooowooo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Interesting game, but I wasn't quite sure that I saw the effects of the one disease mechanic...

goerp says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:51pm

well there was music and graphics but no enemies?

nothing happened I could walk around and sometimes shoot, but that was it
OK gave it another try. Those blocks are exits! That was totally NOT clear.


I must say I find the review of Strangelander a bit harsh.
Nice graphics and sound (nice idea with the affliction), but it didn't play very well.
I didn't get a good idea of what was happening. Some more audio and visual feedback would be nice.

dray says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:59pm

i agree with goerp, graphics and sound is good for a game jam but the experience could have been enhance if you did less ennemies but more work on feedback (what disease i have, door art,...) and controls.

tiffi_gaming says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Yeah for catling gun!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:30am

It seemed like there were a lot of features going on but not much feedback to communicate any of it to the user, which made some parts really confusing. I got real confused by the green gas that reversed my controls.

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:42am

Extremely look like Binding of Isaac. Some art is missing, but the randomize of levels is fine!

LordHellMaX says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:27am

As others have mentioned, I feel like it's lacking communication... It's not clear at all when you have a disease and what it is, and also not clear at the beginning that you can go through the black boxes.

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:48am

Would love to see some screen shots added so more people have an idea of what they're downloading. I enjoy the concept and it was executed pretty well given the time frame.

ehtd says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:13am

Good game, I liked the music and the animations. It would greatly improve getting more responsive controls and making the levels harder.

claudiordgz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:04am

I liked it. It feels unfinished though. The animations are really cool. I don't really need communication but the fact that my character goes beyond the border and I don't know what happens or how I die enervates me. Other than that, I felt like I was trapped inside the universe of The Cube (did someone saw that film?).

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:06am

I spent quite a while figuring out how to attack. Playing a duel stick shooter with WASD and arrow keys is a new one on me.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:10am

Pretty fun little game. A little confusing what disease or weapon you have, but it was overall a nice game. Shoulda been some sort of ending when you beat the dog instead of the game continuing indefinitely. (Or did I miss the ending somehow?)

MrTedders says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:51am

A little more work on the player controls and feedback to the player and you could have something special here on your hands.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:53am

I think the bounding box of the player is kind of too high, collisions were kind of a pain. A lot of features in there though, I like that. Visuals could've been improved and some more explanation would've been good, but overall pretty nice.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:00am

I really like the idea of the random disabilites, but I had a lot of issues with the controls and and visual feedback. For me none of the weapons showed on the screen so half the time I went to attack an enemy I would get hit myself. As a result, I could only get a few rooms in unfortunately.

vinull says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:19am

Start of a neat little "twin stick" shooted, but movement seems delayed. Also, I played with "Allergy" but never noticed what it did (I read the notes after - guess I moved the the rooms quickly). The song was need, but got repetitive - needs a few more bars and variation.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]