Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

UniFlagellete

by vanaficionado - 48 Hour Compo Entry

U`ni`fla`gel�´late
(Biol.) Having but one flagellum; as, uniflagellate organisms.

One cell
One flagellum
One life

You, the single-celled hero, must fight other organisms in an effort to survive. Fight against wave after wave of increasing difficult of enemy, with only a upgrade shop to support you. Death is inevitable. How long can you survive?

***Controls***
LeftClick (Hold) where you want to move
RightClick (Dont Hold) to head butt in direction of mouse
"Q" to open store
"e" to place a bomb if you have one

Ill be sure to rate your game if you rate mine and leave a comment.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#409Theme3.05
#522Innovation2.88
#696Graphics2.53
#802Fun2.39
#851Overall2.53

Comments

Tyro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:26am

When I open the file, the screen just goes white after I choose "survival." I'm using Windows 7 and am simply double clicking the .jar file titled 'RUN'. Hope that helps a little.

vanaficionado says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:39am

Yea, you have to let it load for a minute after clicking survival.

mjforce22 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:52am

Nice job!

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:14am

Linux (and possibly Mac) are broken because you use '\' instead of '/' in the paths.

Use File.separator instead for cross-platform-ness.

vanaficionado says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Thanks man.

Sylence says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Well done :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Neat look to the game. It I like the different layers of background.

Arkazon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Looks nice but I had no idea what was going on!

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Waited for quite a while after clicking survival and it just wasn't loading, sorry man.

Jago says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Laggy as hell on my late 2013 MacBook Pro.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Playing on windows 7 64 bit. When I double click the jar file to start I will also end up with a white screen after the white menu. But when I open a command prompt and start the game with java -jar RUN.jar, everthing works fine...

Interesting art style ;) Was entertaining for a short while.

vanaficionado says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:07am

Thanks man. +1 for going the extra step to play it. Ill be sure to review your game.

sudorossy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:22am

Can't get it to run

Flux says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:42am

Won't load, gave it 5 minutes :(

jongtao says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:54am

I was a bit confused about what I was supposed to do, but being a unicell organism is pretty cool. The background was pretty trippy as well.

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:55am

Couldn't get it to run. Clicked survival and waited 5 minutes, but it still didn't run. Windows 7, AMD APU A8.

xaedes says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:56pm

I really! want to play this. But I can't start it.

When I try to start with "java -jar RUN.jar" I get following error:

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: MainMenu : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
Could not find the main class: MainMenu. Program will exit.

java -version:

java version "1.6.0_29"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_29-b11)
Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 20.4-b02, mixed mode, sharing)

vanaficionado says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:57pm

The game wont run because you have Java Version 1.6 or lower, ill try to make it compatable with older versions. But I would also recommend you update java.

vanaficionado says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:16pm

I updated it to support older versions of Java, its untested though so...
*********PLEASE**********
Leave a comment if this works/doesnt work on your system!!
Thanks!

Wukkopi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Art style was really interesting, but I really didn't have a clue how to exactly control my thingy, it kind of flew around all the places with random speed. Could have some kind of visual feedback when I do or receive damage. Though enemies turned white when they got killed. Other than that nice concept.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Works fine on Windows 8.1 :)

ZYXer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:44pm

I get following error message when I run java -jar RUN.jar:

Exception in thread "AWT-EventQueue-0" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: E
ntropy/Core/Level : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at MainMenu.actionPerformed(MainMenu.java:63)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton.fireActionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton$Handler.actionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.fireActionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.setPressed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.plaf.basic.BasicButtonListener.mouseReleased(Unknown Sour
ce)
at java.awt.Component.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.JComponent.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.processEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Container.processEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.retargetMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Window.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.access$000(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.security.AccessControlContext$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown
Source)
at java.security.AccessControlContext$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown
Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue$2.run(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue$2.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.security.AccessControlContext$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown
Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)

ZYXer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:46pm

and my version:
java version "1.6.0_25"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_25-b06)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 20.0-b11, mixed mode)

jjc180 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Ran a bit choppy on my macbook running OSX but it was still fun. I really like the concept. the seperate window for the shop was a bit tricky on a laptop screen though.

xaedes says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:20pm

It goes one step further I think^^
I try to update java

Exception in thread "AWT-EventQueue-0" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: Entropy/Core/Level : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at MainMenu.actionPerformed(MainMenu.java:63)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton.fireActionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton$Handler.actionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.fireActionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.setPressed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.plaf.basic.BasicButtonListener.mouseReleased(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.JComponent.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.processEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Container.processEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.retargetMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Window.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.access$000(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.security.AccessControlContext$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessControlContext$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue$2.run(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue$2.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.security.AccessControlContext$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)

vanaficionado says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:52am

The issue is the game engine is not backwards compatible with that version of java, ill get working on fixing it right away!

pkenney says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:30pm

I'm sorry, this sounded interesting but it also wouldn't run on my computer. The title screen started okay, but when I clicked to play it closed, launched a new window, and that window was blank forever.

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:16pm

I had to run the game with "-Xmx1024m" parameter; I was getting out of memory errors otherwise.

Sorry, but the graphics were painful for me :/

vanaficionado says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:55am

Im sorry. The game is horribly un-optimized. Its understandable that it isnt running.

When you say the graphics were painufull, what do you mean?

tomc says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Doesn't run on Ubuntu 13.04:

[tomc@obakeyashiki uniflagellete]$ java -version
java version "1.7.0_45"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.7.0_45-b18)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 24.45-b08, mixed mode)

[tomc@obakeyashiki uniflagellete]$ java -jar RUN.jar
Failure in MainMenu

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]